INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Ekos from Pi or from laptop to indiserver?

• Thank you received: 3
Hi there,
I have been using Astroberry for the last 6-8 months and the way I do it (I believe I read it somewhere or saw it on a video):
1. Setup the indiserver on the Pi running
2. Use Kstars on my Mac to connect to astroberry.local server (lan/wifi etc)
3. Imaging guiding etc all through my Mac connecting to the Pi but images downloaded remotely to the Pi only.

I am wondering how most people do it? Do you actually have Kstars/Ekos running on the Pi and just view the Pi through VNC etc and let it run that way so you're not reliant on the external laptop?
Would my imaging/guiding be impacted due to the way I do it..?

Love to hear what's best practice.
Thanks
2 years 2 months ago #79290

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 2
I run the Kstars, EKOS and PHD2 in the Pi. I use my laptop only to connect over VNC to manage the session. Practically my laptop is just like a remote monitor.

In your setup, every guide camera frame has to be sent over the network to your laptop. Then a guide decision has to be made in your laptop and sent back over the network. I would assume that this might create a lag or put pressure on your network. Also, why rely on two compute devices when one can do the job. Unless of course you are running indi on a very low powered rpi. I personally would like to reduce the number of points of failure for a productive session.

Regards,
Arun

2 years 2 months ago #79291

• Thank you received: 3
That's great to hear. I am going to attempt that on my next session. I kind of got into the habit of the current way and didn't explore it as I was also unsure if it's toomuch for the Pi. I'm on Pi4 4GB.
2 years 2 months ago #79292

• Thank you received: 50