INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

ttyUSB0 issues on OnStepp and RasPi4

• Thank you received: 27
hi!
from what i see, you are most likely not connected directly to the microcontroller (that should not be a ttyUSBx device according to the specs) but to the the little extra board on the right hand side of the PCB. a photo might help.

and isn't "astroberry" the default password? i have very little experience with astroberry ...
yours wolfi
4 years 2 months ago #48230

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 0
Hi Wolfi,

The guys who mounted the onstep board told me it was straight but I attached the photo to check it (the USB port cables are the ones above the battery {White, Green, Black and red, goes from battery to other side of the board in same high.})

I'm not sure if the "astroberry" user is a root user or is "pi" user the root? (pi user is disabled for security reasons (he says) I can able again if is necessary).

Then I understand that the issue should cames from the permision, doesn't it?
Last edit: 4 years 2 months ago by Pep.
4 years 2 months ago #48233
Attachments:

• Thank you received: 565
I'm not familiar with OnStep, but I am a bit (unfortunately) familiar with ttyUSB0 issues. Whenever you have more than on serial device, I believe it's wise to use symbolic links rather than the specific device filenames that linux seems to randomly assign.

So, first, if you setup, and you're having this issue, figure out which device your OnStep was assigned. E.g. in a terminal type:
ls /dev/ttyUSB*
and perhaps you'll see /dev/ttyUSB0 and /dev/ttyUSB1.

Then you know your device is one of the two, and you can change the port (in your picture above) to the right device (test the both) and see if things are working.
If this doesn't work, sorry, I guess I misunderstand and ignore the rest of this post. If it does, continue.