INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Is my QHY still any good or is it dying?

• Thank you received: 1
Hello,I have a QHY-10 and I have to admit I'm not using it that often... (almost never)I just took it out of the cupboard a few days ago to test some stuff and took a deeper look at the camera and the darks I took with them.I'm no CCD expert, and I know that's a rather old cam but the darks look odd to me. When visualizing the dark frame in Siril and setting the display to linear it of course looks all black, but when setting it the display mode to auto-adjust I can see a gradient of colors from purple to green.More interesting, if I set the qhy_ccd driver to USB=1 of USB=0, the gradient direction moves from vertical to horizontal...Bellow are screenshots from both darks, in slow (~20s to get the frame) and fast (~1s to get the frame) modes:

Slow:

Fast:

I would be curious to understand:
* why am I getting different gradients depending on that setting of the qhy_ccd driver(USB speed)
* If that's something with the driver, what's the right way to configure the camera?
* Are these gradients normal or is it a proof of something wrong with my cam?

P.S: FITS are available fits darkshere
1 year 6 months ago #86246
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 102
Do you have any older dark frames to compare to?
1 year 6 months ago #86247

• Thank you received: 10
Very interesting. The first frame appears somewhat normal. The second (fast) USB frame is too fast and requires a change of delay time to correct the timing error.

It was always a QHY recommendation to use the slower transfer speed to insure correct timing. My first suggestion would be to try some dark frames using a larger (slower) USB delay.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Sonny Cavazos
1 year 6 months ago #86251

Hi Kevin, thanks for your reply.