INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

indi_v4l2 streaming in color

• Thank you received: 0
I just started playing with a Philips WEB Cam and indi_v4l2 in an effort to get some nice images of Mars.
I can stream in black and white and use Siril to view the results. However, when trying to stream color the images are messed up.
What am I missing?
7 years 10 months ago #8685

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Can you stream in color using any other app?
7 years 10 months ago #8687

Well, it is probably 10, 11 years ago I did this last time using a Philips ToUcam Pro 740K. If I recall correctly I used a Linux app called qastrocam that allowed me to stream the output to obtain large number of color images that I could process via RegiStax to get high quality images of Mars, Jupiter or Saturn.
The camera also came with a windows program that allowed me to do the capture.

I still have this WEB Cam and it works fine with indi_v4l2_ccd to stream gray-scale images, but I have not been able to get the streaming to work with color images.

I did some research about qastrocam but it is apparently no longer maintained.
7 years 10 months ago #8700

• Thank you received: 46
I have one of those kickign around somewhere, haven't used it for years. What i do remember, back in the day it was pretty popular for doing astro stuff, but most progams doing that would put the camera into a special mode where it returned the equivalent of raw data without applying bayer color mapping, then any color was added during post processing by the program interpreting the raw data.

If you used one of those programs way back, and it put the camera into that mode, and saved the configuration that way, the issue may well be that the camera itself is now set to return data in that format.