×

INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

2 x Meade DSI-Unable to find DSI. Has the firmware been loaded?

  • Posts: 27
  • Thank you received: 2
I have Meade DSI III color and Meade DSI II mono. I can connect with Ekos only one camera at a time. Second camera error is: "Unable to find DSI. Has the firmware been loaded?" Single camera works ok. I can disconnect first and connect second.
6 years 5 months ago #19594

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 27
  • Thank you received: 2
I will try change DsiDevice.cpp (add condition to brake)
    handle = NULL;
    for (i = 0; i < cnt; ++i)
    {
        if (!libusb_get_device_descriptor(list[i], &desc))
        {
            if ((desc.idVendor == 0x156c) && (desc.idProduct = 0x0101))
            {
                dev = list[i];
                if (libusb_open(dev, &handle))
                {
                    dev = NULL; 
                }
                if (dev!=NULL)  break; // libusb_open return code <> 0 it's mean no success - maybe device is already opened (first dsi) , if dev is NULL don't brake search next device from list
            }
        }
    }
Last edit: 6 years 5 months ago by Long Jon.
6 years 5 months ago #19620

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 27
  • Thank you received: 2
This code dosen't work. How to chceck is device already opened by another instance of driver?

Lsusb shows that firmware is loaded for both dsi. I can connect only to one.
6 years 5 months ago #19639

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 27
  • Thank you received: 2
I can connect two camera with this modification. Ekos see it as "Meade Deep Sky Guide" and "Meade Deep Sky Guide 2".
The cameras are randomly assigned to "Meade Deep Sky Guider" and "Meade Deep Sky Guider 2". Have I change some name etc?

I think it would be a good idea to add a switch first / second instance and always use the same usb ports. Both camera have the same serial number: 0.
handle = NULL;
    for (i = 0; i < cnt; ++i)
    {
        if (!libusb_get_device_descriptor(list[i], &desc))
        {
            if ((desc.idVendor == 0x156c) && (desc.idProduct = 0x0101))
            {
                dev = list[i];
                if (libusb_open(dev, &handle))
                {
                    dev = NULL; 
                }
                else // device opened - check is already claimed
				   if  (!libusb_claim_interface (handle,0)) 
				   {
				    libusb_release_interface (handle,0); // first dsi found - end loop
				    break;
				   }
            }
        }
    }
The following user(s) said Thank You: Ben Gilsrud, William S
Last edit: 6 years 5 months ago by Long Jon.
6 years 5 months ago #19649

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 153
  • Thank you received: 29
Nice work!

I take it that you are running with two instances of the dsi_ccd driver then? That sounds like a pretty good solution to me, though it seems that some other CCD drivers support multiple devices per driver. I don't know if there's something to be gained by that approach, though? Jasem?

I suspect that you could get a non-zero serial number reported by the devices by uncommenting DsiDevice.cpp:298. The comments regarding the actual serial numbers are not encouraging, but you might have a reasonable chance at getting something unique.

I'm glad to hear that your DSI III is working with the INDI driver...I think you're the first one to confirm this.

I'll work on improving the driver to include the DSI model name and serial number properties in the INDI control panel.

Thanks,
Ben
The following user(s) said Thank You: Jasem Mutlaq
6 years 5 months ago #19717

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

While it's unlikely we have many users who want to run two DSIs, it's good to have the driver support this (if possible). You can a look at how INDI ASI and QHY drivers are doing it, it should be fairly straightforward.
6 years 5 months ago #19718

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 27
  • Thank you received: 2

I run two instances of driver.
I think only few people use two DSIs with Indi. My DSI III has additional 4-stage peltier cooling. My code modification is sufficient for me.

Your driver is better than the original ASCOM. The driver allows to turn off the amplifier. Thank you for excelent work.

The ccd sensor in Meade DSI III Color is ICX285AQ
please add this code:

else if (ccd == "ICX285AQ")
{
DEBUG (INDI :: Logger :: DBG_SESSION, "Found a DSI Color III!");
}

I have to manualy enter RGGB filter in order to debayer in fits preview.
6 years 5 months ago #19838

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.879 seconds