INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Canon EOS 1000D - all FITS files are completely black in DSS

• Thank you received: 1
Hi,
I'm new to KStars and Ekos. I have recently installed Astroberry 2.0.1. I used Windows / ASCOM / EQASCOM before.

I have a Canon EOS 1000D and managed to connect it to Ekos and was able to shoot some frames.
However, when I set it to save them as FITS files and then load these FITS into DeepSkyStacker the frames are all completely black.
When I open the files in a FITS viewer there is some information there.

Has somebody seen this before? Is this something I'm doing wrong? Or are these FITS files not compatible with DSS?

When I select "Native" file format, then I get the usual .cr2 files and these are fine. I just thought I'd save as FITS as that is more of a standard format.

I have attached an example FITS file (zipped to meed the file size limitations)

Thanks!
Chris
3 years 11 months ago #51967
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

It's fine, I suspect DSS is not auto-stretching them?
3 years 11 months ago #51984

Hmmm, I don't really want to disagree with you :D but they are not just very very dark, they are entirely black in DSS. I have tried again with flats and they are also completely black when I use FITS and open them in DSS. Using a .cr2 file captured with otherwise identical settings works fine.

But I guess that is a DSS issue of some sort as the FITS files seem to contain data when I open them in a FITS viewer. I was just wondering if it could be a setting somewhere in Ekos that makes the FITS files incompatible with DSS.

I also noticed that the .cr2 and FITS have different resolution (as shown in DSS). CR2 shows 3906 x 2602 and FITS shows 3888 x 2592. The resolution shown for FITS is what I set in Ekos Control Panel for the EOS camera as that is what I found online for my EOS 1000D. Not sure if this could be related.