×
INDI Library v1.8.6 Released (21 Aug 2020)

August 2020 release of INDI Library v1.8.6 introduces new drivers while providing fixes and improvements to existing devices and core framework.

Canon EOS 600D "Exposure failed to save image... Unspecified error"

1 month 3 weeks ago 1 month 1 week ago by fschuindt.
fschuindt
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 24
More
Topic Author
Canon EOS 600D "Exposure failed to save image... Unspecified error" #57896
Hello there, everyone.

I had success with using my Canon EOS 600D with INDI in Ekos/KStars. So thank you all for the help.

But now I'm leveling up my set up with a Raspberry Pi 4 running Manjaro Linux. I've blogged about this new setup here .

So naturally I installed the libs, configured the network and now I have what I call <em>starwitch.home</em> (that's the IP for the Raspberry Pi on my <em>/etc/hosts</em>). So I tried to perform the same configuration I use on wired, but using a remote computer this time. And everything seems to be working just fine. The mount, the joystick, even the DSLR "Live Video" function works fine. The problem is when I try to perform a normal image capture.

It all starts good, I can hear the mirror working when the logs say it should, and the capture seems as if it had worked fine, but just at the end it kinda freezes for a few seconds, then the logs says it's going to restart because "Exposure failed to save image... Unspecified error".

I'm supposing it was able to take the picture but failed to save it on the destination. I've tried many different combinations and searched a lot about it, but with no success. So I'm kinda stuck here.

So any help/tip/clue will be really welcome.

I've taken screenshots for every configuration window on Ekos, all attached here:
postimg.cc/gallery/pxhNVb1

The log can also be found on the pictures.

So that's it.
Thank you all!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 3 weeks ago
knro
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 8398
Karma: 51
Canon EOS 600D "Exposure failed to save image... Unspecified error" #57931
You're using mirror lock? have you enabled this in the camera first?

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 3 weeks ago
fschuindt
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 24
More
Topic Author
Canon EOS 600D "Exposure failed to save image... Unspecified error" #57939
Hey, knro.

Yes, I'm using mirror lock and it's also enabled on the camera. Just double checked it.

Thank you for the reply!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 3 weeks ago
fschuindt
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 24
More
Topic Author
Canon EOS 600D "Exposure failed to save image... Unspecified error" #57958
I'm starting to think that here the problem might be a bad combination of transport like RAW/FITS or something related. I really don't know, I'm clueless.
I tried messing around with the configs once again but no success. :(

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 2 weeks ago
fschuindt
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 24
More
Topic Author
Canon EOS 600D "Exposure failed to save image... Unspecified error" #58161
Still no luck with this particular issue.
Any help? :/

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 2 weeks ago
maxthebuilder
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 371
More
Canon EOS 600D "Exposure failed to save image... Unspecified error" #58165
Double check the path to the folder it's supposed to save images to.

I had this error a couple of times when my usb stick mounted differently for some reason.

Max S.

RPI 4 B (4Gb) with SMate
Nikon D5500 H-a modified. Nikon D5500 stock
AT72EDII, TPO RC6
ZWO ASI294MC Pro, ASI071MC Pro
ZWO ASI120MC-S on ZWO 30F4
ZWO EAF x 2
SW AZ-GTi x 2
SW HEQ5

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 2 weeks ago 1 month 2 weeks ago by fschuindt.
fschuindt
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 24
More
Topic Author
Canon EOS 600D "Exposure failed to save image... Unspecified error" #58238
Thank you, maxthebuilder. I have checked the path and it seems to be OK. I have even tried both local and remote paths. But again no success.

I'm sorry I haven't replied earlier, this week was intense on my job.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 2 weeks ago
fschuindt
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 24
More
Topic Author
Canon EOS 600D "Exposure failed to save image... Unspecified error" #58306
Spent this afternoon trying to make this work but again no success. Tried many different configurations combination.
It's sad that I got so far but got stuck here, I'm almost giving up.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 2 weeks ago
knro
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 8398
Karma: 51
Canon EOS 600D "Exposure failed to save image... Unspecified error" #58314
Did you check the rest of troubleshooting tips ?

Also, run this command, does it work? Either way, post the log:
gphoto2 --debug --debug-logfile=gphoto.txt --capture-image-and-download

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 1 week ago 1 month 1 week ago by fschuindt.
fschuindt
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 24
More
Topic Author
Canon EOS 600D "Exposure failed to save image... Unspecified error" #58366
Once again, thank you knro.

I took the time to carefully read the entire page you sent me and all this thing regarding the "force bulb" for longer exposures and manual for exposures less than a second caught my attention. So I've tried to capture a 10" long picture and got success. The camera was on "M" and "force bulb" was set to be active on Ekos. This whole time I was trying shorter exposures.

That's a good thing!

But then I tried to take a fast exposure like 1/100". The camera was on "M" and "force bulb" as set to be off on Ekos. I've set the exposure time to be 0.01, which is a predefined shutter speed on this particular model (1/100). But just changing this (force bulb to off and exposure time to 0.01) made it fail again.

That's the complete log of actions, with the successful 10" exposure, and the failed 1/100" exposure after (on top):
2020-08-18T23:17:39: [ERROR] Failed to expose. 
2020-08-18T23:17:39: [ERROR] Error downloading image from camera: Directory not found 
2020-08-18T23:17:36: [INFO] Starting 0.01 seconds exposure (+3 seconds mirror lock). 
2020-08-18T23:17:23: [INFO] Starting 0.01 seconds exposure (+3 seconds mirror lock). 
2020-08-18T23:17:23: [ERROR] Failed to expose. 
2020-08-18T23:17:23: [ERROR] Error downloading image from camera: Directory not found 
2020-08-18T23:17:19: [INFO] Starting 0.01 seconds exposure (+3 seconds mirror lock). 
2020-08-18T23:16:57: [INFO] Force BULB is disabled. Exposures shall utilize camera predefined exposures time first before attempting BULB. 
2020-08-18T23:16:26: [INFO] Starting 10.3 seconds exposure (+3 seconds mirror lock). 
2020-08-18T23:16:19: [INFO] Force BULB is enabled. All expsures shall be captured in BULB mode except for subsecond captures.

So as you can see the 10" (actually for some reason that I don't know it's 10.3") works right away with BULB mode enabled. Then I disabled bulb (as I'm going to perform a short exposure) and proceed to test the 0.01" exposure, which fails triggering a retry from Ekos.

I then tried the 0.01" exposure with "force bulb" enabled, just for curiosity. But it also failed:
2020-08-18T23:23:08: [ERROR] Failed to expose. 
2020-08-18T23:22:54: [INFO] Starting 0.01 seconds exposure (+3 seconds mirror lock). 
2020-08-18T23:22:54: [ERROR] Failed to expose. 
2020-08-18T23:22:41: [INFO] Starting 0.01 seconds exposure (+3 seconds mirror lock). 
2020-08-18T23:22:40: [ERROR] Failed to expose. 
2020-08-18T23:22:26: [INFO] Starting 0.01 seconds exposure (+3 seconds mirror lock). 
2020-08-18T23:22:19: [INFO] Force BULB is enabled. All expsures shall be captured in BULB mode except for subsecond captures.

So in other words, only long exposures with "force bulb" enabled are working for me at this moment. Any idea?

Now regarding this gphoto2 command, I logged on the Pi's SSH and with the INDI server stooped I executed it, took around 2 minutes to finish:
$ gphoto2 --debug --debug-logfile=gphoto.txt --capture-image-and-download
ERROR: Could not capture image.                                                
ERROR: Could not capture.

The complete log is here: gist.github.com/fschuindt/d2a5f3b0fab08d873716d21dd4a5c2ab

It's a huge file, more than 14k lines.

Side note I had to install gphoto2 in order to run this command, it was't installed before. But I think that makes sense since I believe I'm using a DSLR-specific driver instead of the gphoto driver, right?

I think that's it. Any tips/clues/ideas?
Thank you all for the support!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 1 week ago
fschuindt
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 24
More
Topic Author
Canon EOS 600D "Exposure failed to save image... Unspecified error" #58409
I was once again playing with Ekos and noticed the capture is only working if the exposure time is longer than 1.8". Anything shorter than that will yield the same error I described on the original post.

Even with "force bulb" disabled, it seems as if it's always trying to do bulb. I'm not sure.

Another thing I noticed, is that if I set a 3" long exposure on Ekos, it works, but the .CR2 file metadata will display the exposure time as 1.0", not 3.0".

As stated before, I'm using a Mirror Lock. But I noticed something strange: When I set a 3" long exposure, I hear 4 clicks. The first and the last are loud. But the two of the middle are quiet.
So I think the first and the last are the mirror moving up and down, and the other two are the opening and closing of the sensor to perform the exposure itself. But I see that the exposure countdown starts on the first click, not on the second one. So I think that kinda explains why I have a 1.0" exposure metadata when I ask for a 3.0" one. 2" were spent on the mirror lock delay. (2" is my mirror lock delay)

Not good.

So I tried disabling the mirror lock, both on Ekos and both on the camera settings. On Ekos I haven't found a "disable mirror lock" specific config., so I've set the Mirror Lock to 0". But after doing this I'm no longer able to take any pictures, not even the long exposures. The camera remains completely silent when the Ekos log displays attempts to capture the image. In other words I can only take pictures when I have Mirror Lock enabled.

But even so, not short exposures as I said. And even the longer ones seems a little bit messed. Like 3" exposing only 1" on reality.

Also, I don't think that calculating Mirror Lock delay + exposure time works. Using a 2" mirror lock and commanding Ekos to expose 3" and later 2.8" will both yield a .CR2 file with a 1.0" exposure on the metadata. (I was expecting to get one as a 0.8" exposure)

All of this made me wonder if there's someone reliably using INDI+Ekos to work with DSLR cameras. Because I don't feel it's production ready at all to be honest. (I'm eager to help)

Is there anyway to take short exposures (like 0.8") on Canon DSLRs?

Thank you!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 1 week ago
knro
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 8398
Karma: 51
Canon EOS 600D "Exposure failed to save image... Unspecified error" #58471
I have 600D and just used it to take all kind of different exposures.. this is my development camera so I know that ALL the features work quite well. Maybe this is somehow related to Manjero? Not sure why, but if you use it with another distribution (raspbian or ubuntu).. same issue? Mabye the libgphoto2 is not the same.

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 1.031 seconds