INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

What camera for a RPI4 ?

• Thank you received: 0
Hello everyone,

first topic here, I'm still a beginner in astrophotography, I started 1 year ago with a really basic set-up.

Today I've upgraded almost everything. I use a Sky Watcher 150/750 on an EQ5 mount with a Go-To system and belt. I use a RPI4 with Kstar/Ekos and Phd2, the autoguiding system works with a Datyson T7C.
My camera is an old EOS 1000D unfiltered by myself. It works well but I recently started to watch for an astro camera.

The idea is to find a camera working with all the set-up and piloted by Ekos. The RPI4 is a 4GB ram.

I dont want to make any mistake, so i'd like to know wich camera are working well with Ekos and a RPI 4BG with a Datyson T7C running at the same time.
The cameras that interest me the most by now are the one with the Imx294 sensor ( Asi294C or QHY294C ) or maybe the QHY168C, anyway It's juste the beginning of my researchs, I'm not closed to any other camera.

Thanks and sorry for my "french" english !

2 years 11 months ago #69391

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 53

Replied by Ken Self on topic What camera for a RPI4 ?

Most of the popular astro cameras will work on the RPi with Ekos.So the choice of camera really comes down to what sort of objects you are interested in, the sort of onditions you image under and how you wantto display your images.For example, if you are interested in emission nebulae a cooled mono camera with large field of view and narrow band filters would work best. With planetary you would want a color camera with small pixels and video capable.

2 years 11 months ago #69398

• Thank you received: 13

Replied by Max Dobres on topic What camera for a RPI4 ?