×
INDI Library v1.8.1 Released (09 Sep 2019)

Monthly maintenance release INDI v1.8.1

Observatory | graph display of sensor data

1 month 3 weeks ago 1 month 3 weeks ago by sterne-jaeger.
sterne-jaeger
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 392
Karma: 5
More
Topic Author
Observatory | graph display of sensor data #44477
Dear observatory owners,
I've added a graph representation of weather sensor data to the Observatory module. You can test it if you checkout from the "observatory_sensor_graphs" branch from my KStars clone



With this new feature you can select one sensor from the weather sensors and display its development over time.

It would be great if one of you can test it and give me feedback if it's working as expected.

The idea behind is that I would like to add the option to track arbitrary sensors from all devices and - if selected - propagate the values to other modules. As soon as we have this feature, for example could implement a temperature based focusing algorithm based on the temperature measurement of an arbitrary temperature sensor.

Feedback warmly welcome
Wolfgang

TSA-120 + FSQ-85 + GSO 150/750 | Avalon Linear + M-zero | Moravian G2-8300 + ASI 1600mm pro + ASI 294mc pro | KStars/INDI on Raspberry Pi 4 with Raspbian 10
Attachments:
The following user(s) said Thank You knro, TallFurryMan, fenriques

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 3 weeks ago
wotalota
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 109
More
Observatory | graph display of sensor data #44518
What is the correct git command to fetch the modified source?

I tried variations of the git command using git clone git://github.com/sterne-jaeger/kstars/tree/observatory_sensor_graphs/ as the base without success. Then clicked on the code tab and used the link shown in the dialog or clone box which did fetch kstars.
git clone git://github.com/sterne-jaeger/kstars.git.

After the build I am not seeing the graph so assume I fetched the wrong code.

Mach1, TS86SDQ, ASI071, ASI174, OAG, focusPro
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 3 weeks ago
sterne-jaeger
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 392
Karma: 5
More
Topic Author
Observatory | graph display of sensor data #44520
git clone git://github.com/sterne-jaeger/kstars.git
cd kstars
git checkout observatory_sensor_graphs

TSA-120 + FSQ-85 + GSO 150/750 | Avalon Linear + M-zero | Moravian G2-8300 + ASI 1600mm pro + ASI 294mc pro | KStars/INDI on Raspberry Pi 4 with Raspbian 10

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 3 weeks ago
wotalota
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 109
More
Observatory | graph display of sensor data #44540
Wolfgang,

That helped.
I'm not seeing anything wrong here in my setup after running it overnight. It is an interesting display the way it adjusts with time and temperature. The Observatory information is matching the values seen from the Vantage driver. It is responsive to the unsafe status returned from the Weather Safety Proxy driver's curl requests and external park/unpark requests to the roll off roof driver. Looks good.

/Tom

Mach1, TS86SDQ, ASI071, ASI174, OAG, focusPro
Attachments:
The following user(s) said Thank You sterne-jaeger

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 weeks 11 hours ago
wotalota
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 109
More
Observatory | graph display of sensor data #45536
I have lost track of when this was first noticed but at startup the observatory always shows the roof as open. The rolloff roof status and switches do not agree. Also the graph is no longer appearing.
Has there been any interface requirement change for a rolloff roof? I just did a rebuild of mine but it didn't help.
Thanks
Tom

Mach1, TS86SDQ, ASI071, ASI174, OAG, focusPro
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 weeks 5 hours ago
sterne-jaeger
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 392
Karma: 5
More
Topic Author
Observatory | graph display of sensor data #45546
At least nothing intentionally changed. Log files would be helpful.

TSA-120 + FSQ-85 + GSO 150/750 | Avalon Linear + M-zero | Moravian G2-8300 + ASI 1600mm pro + ASI 294mc pro | KStars/INDI on Raspberry Pi 4 with Raspbian 10

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 weeks 3 hours ago 3 weeks 6 days ago by wotalota. Reason: extra info
wotalota
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 109
More
Observatory | graph display of sensor data #45551
This log is from when it was raining.

Edit

I tried using all simulators and got the same Opened status. Then tried on a different system that is not used, again with all simulators and there the Observatory reported Closed status. So perhaps I have somehow picked up the wrong Dome or Observatory code on my normal system switching between installing packages and doing local builds. I will look into that over the weekend. Neither simulator tests showed the Observatory graph.

Mach1, TS86SDQ, ASI071, ASI174, OAG, focusPro
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 weeks 1 hour ago 4 weeks 1 hour ago by Lead_weight.
Lead_weight
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 235
Karma: 2
More
Observatory | graph display of sensor data #45553
This is nice, I've tested it with my MBox Meteostaiton. The MBox software displays all sensors in a single graph (on the PC). Is this possible? Then have a check box next to each thing being graphed to turn them on or off. I love this tab, but hate that dome (especially if you don't have one) takes up such a large spot. What if weather took up the top 2/3 and dome was in a line across the bottom 1/3?

-Andrew
––––––––––
Mac Observatory - All about using the Mac for Astrophotography: www.macobservatory.com
Astrobin: www.astrobin.com/users/Lead_Weight/

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 weeks 6 days ago
sterne-jaeger
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 392
Karma: 5
More
Topic Author
Observatory | graph display of sensor data #45560

I tried using all simulators and got the same Opened status. Then tried on a different system that is not used, again with all simulators and there the Observatory reported Closed status. So perhaps I have somehow picked up the wrong Dome or Observatory code on my normal system switching between installing packages and doing local builds. I will look into that over the weekend. Neither simulator tests showed the Observatory graph.

A quick check of the log file showed me two things:
  1. KStars reports being version 3.3.6. Please switch to the latest master, which should be 3.3.7
  2. It seems like your observatory is recognised as dome and not as rolloff roof. You can see this in this log entry:
    [2019-11-07T18:15:55.356 EST INFO ][org.kde.kstars.ekos.observatory] - "Parking dome..."
Could you please switch to the latest version and check whether your dome claims that it can neither absolutely nor relatively move? Sorry, the latter is not a good idea, but that's currently the situation in INDI. Here is the code snippet:
bool Dome::isRolloffRoof()
{
    // a rolloff roof is a dome that can move neither absolutely nor relatively
    return (currentDome && !currentDome->canAbsMove() && !currentDome->canRelMove());
}

HTH
Wolfgang

TSA-120 + FSQ-85 + GSO 150/750 | Avalon Linear + M-zero | Moravian G2-8300 + ASI 1600mm pro + ASI 294mc pro | KStars/INDI on Raspberry Pi 4 with Raspbian 10

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 weeks 6 days ago
wotalota
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 109
More
Observatory | graph display of sensor data #45578
Thanks Wolfgang

I'm on Fedora and run update most days - 3.3.7 just became available this morning. Installing it fixed the graph display.

root@chai tg]# dnf list --installed kstars-bleeding
Installed Packages
kstars-bleeding.x86_64 3.3.6-2.18 @lupinix-indi-bleeding
[root@chai tg]# dnf update --best --allowerasing
Last metadata expiration check: 0:05:18 ago on Fri 08 Nov 2019 09:54:29 AM EST.
Dependencies resolved.
================================================================================
Package Arch Version Repository Size
================================================================================
Upgrading:
kstars-bleeding x86_64 3.3.7-2.1 lupinix-indi-bleeding 32 M

Upgraded:
kstars-bleeding-3.3.7-2.1.x86_64


On the Dome::isRolloffRoof() check it supposedly should succeed. The only call I find is capability being set as per the rolloff simulator.

RollOffIno::RollOffIno()
{
SetDomeCapability(DOME_CAN_ABORT | DOME_CAN_PARK);
}

Mach1, TS86SDQ, ASI071, ASI174, OAG, focusPro

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 weeks 6 days ago
wotalota
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 109
More
Observatory | graph display of sensor data #45582
Where can isRolloffRoof() be found. After git clone github.com/indilib/indi.git
I don't find it in indidome.cpp

Mach1, TS86SDQ, ASI071, ASI174, OAG, focusPro

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 weeks 6 days ago
sterne-jaeger
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 392
Karma: 5
More
Topic Author
Observatory | graph display of sensor data #45584
That's part of kstars, not of Indi. I checked it with the RoofSimulator. There opening and closing as well as parking/unparking works well. Did you test it with the latest versions?

One thing that is not possible with the current INDI implementation: the "unparked" state does not guarantee that the roof is fully open. As soon as opening has started, the status is "unparked".

Wolfgang

TSA-120 + FSQ-85 + GSO 150/750 | Avalon Linear + M-zero | Moravian G2-8300 + ASI 1600mm pro + ASI 294mc pro | KStars/INDI on Raspberry Pi 4 with Raspbian 10

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.301 seconds