INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Programmer Corrosion -- "UDP is killin' me!"

• Thank you received: 16
There was a time I was a reasonable network programmer, but clearly I am overly corroded these days or am missing something. Apparently, I am stuck in the cracks, in that I am not running any Windoze equipment, nor iOS where it appears all the documentation lives for my problem..which is this:

I want to use KStars for my Skywatcher 250P Goto (alt/az) telescope. It works with the indi_synscan_telescope driver, but requires SynScanApp running on a Tablet as an intermediary. I have tried moving the scope via a USB->TTY device, without success and would be fine with writing something to do at least that simple task if I could see how the SynScanApp is communicating. For some reason, I cannot.

The SynScanApp works with tne built-in WiFi (no dongle) of my scope. I can see (using WireShark) UDP packets being sent via multicast outbound from the tablet on discovery by the SynScanApp. There is apparently SOME kind of communication, as the scope can then be controlled by the tablet, but I am not seeing any traffic (TCP or UDP) from the scope to the tablet or tablet to scope. I have tried many moving and other type operations and monitored WiFi traffic without finding a single byte of traffic after the initial discovery query from the tablet. I have written a UDP script that duplicates the SynScanApp UDP packet send for the original discovery and receive no reply. Due to some Internet suggestions that contradict the SynScan documentation, I have tried a variety of ports for the UDP discovery query including 11880 as witnessed being used by the SynScanApp and 11881, 11882 and 11883 with no reply.

SkyWatcher support has not answered my email. I don't know if they are closed for CV19 or the question doesn't have an easy answer.