×

INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Cannot connect to 2m Scopedome / Arduino

  • Posts: 472
  • Thank you received: 165
Thank you for testing, as said I don't have anything connected to the controller so it was almost certain there would be things like this (and more to come :).

Some functions are controlled somewhat differently with the Arduino-version than with my older USB Card. For example both these two functions are controlled directly via relay on/off controls in the older controller (CW/CCW and open/close are actually the same relay controls, just one is in the master controller and one in slave) where as the Arduino-controller uses explicit commands based on the function. It seems I've accidentally left some clearing of the relays there (which would send the stop commands with the new controller instead of clearing one of the relays) when trying to abstract these functions for the common code.

I'll double check the open/closed sensor bits too, it's quite possible I've accidentally swapped them. If the driver thinks the shutter is already open, it wouldn't send an open command and vice versa.

In this case I can probably quite easily fix these just by looking at the code, but for more complex bugs it would be useful to have a driver debug log (enabled from Ekos log controls) so I could see the exact commands sent and more importantly status updates back from the controller.
Last edit: 3 years 3 days ago by Jarno Paananen.
3 years 3 days ago #69191

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 472
  • Thank you received: 165
I think I found and fixed the CW/CCW movement issue, but couldn't find any clear reason for the shutter problem. It would be very helpful if you got a log of the status response from the controller when the shutter is closed and when it's open. It should be something like what I get from my controller: getStatus|OK|0:1:0:1:1:1:1:1;0.0000:1.0000:0.4399;32000;31.29:38.00:999.90:999.90:999.90:999.90:999.90:999.90:999.90;1009.21:999.90;0;5.09;1:1:1:1:1:1;0:0:0:0:0.0000:0.0000:0:0:0;0;126;1#0:1:1:1:1:1:1:1;0.0000:1.0000:0.4291;32000;32.31:39.00:999.90:999.90:999.90:999.90:999.90:999.90:999.90;1009.30:999.90;0;5.09;1:1:1:1:1:1;0:0:0:0:0.0000:0.0000:0:0:0;0;106;1#1:0:0:0

There should be one 1 that turns to 0 and one 0 that turns to 1 between those two, like needles in a haystack :)
3 years 3 days ago #69259

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 35
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi

find the  log file enclosed

CW and CCW works fine, still impossible to open the shutter

 - Setting shutter status to  4 correspond to "open" click
 - Setting shutter status to  1 correspond to "close" click

Rgds 

File Attachment:

File Name: log_12-49-32.txt
File Size:17 KB
 




 
Last edit: 3 years 2 days ago by Eric TINLOT.
3 years 2 days ago #69295
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 472
  • Thank you received: 165
Thanks, the problem seems to be that for some reason there is no link between the controllers so shutter commands time out. This is shown at the end of the status response:

1149;1##0:0:0:0

The slave status should be there between the ## characters and the first 0 after ## should be 1 when link is established. There are prints that the link is established occasionally, but without full debug logs I can't say if the data is otherwise valid. It might be that you need to enable the driver debug level in INDI control panel for them to get logged. That would include all traffic with the controller which would be useful to see what is going on.

I'll try to see how my controllers behave if I turn power off from the slave controller occasionally, but it's a bit weird why the link isn't up if the Windows drivers work fine. I haven't had issues with the link, but I have the controllers next to each other on a table so that might help :)

Btw. how old your dome is, have you updated the controller firmware at some point? I have version 5.4 in my controllers.
3 years 2 days ago #69315

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 35
  • Thank you received: 0
HI

link between both card is in bluetooth, my dome is.....1 month old 8-)
both in ver 5.4, i have few "bad link" with the scopedome windows driver, will try to check tomorrow the wheel that bring supply to the dome
and redo test with driver level debug in indi

keep you update
Rgds
Eric
3 years 2 hours ago #69389

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 35
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi

did some test this evening
with the following configuration for the log

 


when i start the dome is seen open (open is highlighted as below)
but in reality the dome is closed 

 
 

 we are at 20:21:53 before error in red, i try to open or closed (no change)
after few minutes the error message appears

even after link is established still wrong status (open instead of closed and no reaction to any push on open or close)
see corresponding log file extract below


[2021-03-31T22:21:53.043 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < CCD Simulator >: < CCD_STREAM_RECORDER >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.047 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < CCD Simulator >: < LIMITS >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.056 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < CCD Simulator >: < DSP_ACTIVATE_CONVOLUTION >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.071 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < CCD Simulator >: < DSP_ACTIVATE_DFT >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.083 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < CCD Simulator >: < DSP_ACTIVATE_IDFT >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.086 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < CCD Simulator >: < DSP_ACTIVATE_SPECTRUM >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.090 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < CCD Simulator >: < DSP_ACTIVATE_HISTOGRAM >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.094 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < CCD Simulator >: < DSP_ACTIVATE_WAVELETS >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.098 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < CCD Simulator >: < CCD_COOLER >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.113 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < CCD Simulator >: < CCD_GAIN >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.132 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < CCD Simulator >: < CCD_OFFSET >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.151 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < CCD Simulator >: < CCD_DIRECTORY_LOCATION >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.160 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < CCD Simulator >: < CCD_DIRECTORY_TOGGLE >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.164 CEST INFO ][     org.kde.kstars.ekos.align] - "World Coordinate System (WCS) is enabled. CCD rotation must be set either manually in the CCD driver or by solving an image before proceeding to capture any further images, otherwise the WCS information may be invalid."
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.172 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < CCD Simulator >: < FILTER_SLOT >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.194 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < CCD Simulator >: < FILTER_NAME >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.195 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.ekos] - "CCD Simulator filter is online."
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.197 CEST WARN ][                       default] - QObject::disconnect: Unexpected null parameter
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.218 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome :  "[INFO] Steps per revolution read as 2910 "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.219 CEST DEBG ][org.kde.kstars.ekos.observatory] - Setting shutter status to  4
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.220 CEST INFO ][org.kde.kstars.ekos.observatory] - "Shutter is closing..."
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.223 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome :  "[INFO] InitPark: No Park data in file /home/astroberry/.indi/ParkData.xml: No such file or directory "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.224 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome :  "[INFO] Dome is unparked. "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.235 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome :  "[WARNING] Rotary link not established, shutter control not possible "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.235 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome : "[DEBUG] Toggle Debug Level -- Driver Debug "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.236 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome :  "[INFO] Loading device configuration... "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.237 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome :  "[INFO] Debug is disabled. "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.272 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.ekos] - "Re-enabling debug logging for ScopeDome Dome..."
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.279 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < ScopeDome Dome >: < SYSTEM_PORTS >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.283 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome :  "[INFO] Mount Policy set to: Mount ignored. Dome can park regardless of mount parking state. "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.284 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome : "Dome is no longer synced to mount azimuth position. "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.286 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome :  "[WARNING] Dome is no longer synced to mount azimuth position. "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.287 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome :  "[INFO] Device configuration applied. "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.288 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - CCD Simulator :  "[INFO] Loading device configuration... "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.291 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - CCD Simulator :  "[INFO] Upload settings set to client only. "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.295 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - CCD Simulator :  "[INFO] Setting current filter to slot 1 "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.301 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - CCD Simulator :  "[INFO] Device configuration applied. "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.303 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome :  "[WARNING] Rotary link established, shutter control now possible "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.303 CEST DEBG ][org.kde.kstars.ekos.observatory] - Setting shutter status to  1
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.304 CEST INFO ][org.kde.kstars.ekos.observatory] - "Shutter is open."
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.310 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - CCD Simulator :  "[INFO] World Coordinate System is enabled. "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.310 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < CCD Simulator >: < CCD_ROTATION >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.324 CEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome :  "[INFO] Debug is enabled. "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.324 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < ScopeDome Dome >: < DEBUG_LEVEL >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.329 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < ScopeDome Dome >: < LOGGING_LEVEL >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.333 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - < ScopeDome Dome >: < LOG_OUTPUT >
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.337 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome : "[DEBUG] Toggle Debug Level -- Driver Debug "
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.572 CEST DEBG ][org.kde.kstars.ekos.observatory] - Setting shutter status to  1
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.573 CEST INFO ][org.kde.kstars.ekos.observatory] - "Shutter is open."
[2021-03-31T22:21:53.575 CEST DEBG ][org.kde.kstars.ekos.observatory] - Setting dome park status to  4
[2021-03-31T22:21:57.798 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - INDI Server:  "2021-03-31T20:21:57: Client 14: new arrival from 127.0.0.1:56960 - welcome!"
[2021-03-31T22:21:57.799 CEST DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - INDI Server:  ""

sorry i did not manage to get the error message (invalid response) details in the log file....
Last edit: 2 years 11 months ago by Eric TINLOT.
2 years 11 months ago #69510
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 472
  • Thank you received: 165
Thanks, unfortunately that doesn't include the driver debug messages I was hoping for as those show the actual low level commands and responses from the controller. It might be that you need to enable them from INDI control panel manually (in addition to the options you already have enabled above), preferably before connecting to the controller so that everything gets logged. It should then also show where the log file will be created, mine in this case was /home/jpaana/.indi/logs/2021-04-01/indi_scopedome_dome/indi_scopedome_dome_19:46:06.log, so please attach that file as an attachment (zip preferred as the log is quite verbose), it's easier for me to search things from than a forum post :) These debug prints should also show up in the KStars log so either log is good for me.

2 years 11 months ago #69538
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 35
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi 

i followed the configuration given ,here is the logfile  

File Attachment:

File Name: log_10-48-02.txt
File Size:43 KB
,
i did not see any status frame inside

Regards
Eric
2 years 11 months ago #69563
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 472
  • Thank you received: 165
Thanks, yes for some reason the debug logging seems to be turned off once you connect, could be that you have old settings saved which have that disabled. These are the kind of lines I'm looking for with the [DEBUG] tag:

[2021-04-02T10:48:55.464 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome : "[DEBUG] Connecting to /dev/ttyACM0 @ 9600 "
[2021-04-02T10:48:55.465 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome : "[DEBUG] Port FD 3 "
[2021-04-02T10:48:55.466 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome : "[DEBUG] Connection successful, attempting handshake... "

but unfortunately there aren't any after connection so probably Ekos or automatic loading of configuration disabled it. Once you have the debug logging enabled, saving the options at that point might help with that.

[2021-04-02T10:48:31.951 CEST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - ScopeDome Dome : "[INFO] Session log file /home/astroberry/.indi/logs/2021-04-02/indi_scopedome_dome/indi_scopedome_dome_08:48:19.log "

Is there anything more in this file?
2 years 11 months ago #69570

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 35
  • Thank you received: 0
got this one 8-)
 

File Attachment:

File Name: indi_scope...1_05.log
File Size:2 KB



  just extract below two "good" frames using webserver, one with shutter open and the second one with shutter closed as reference if it can help
 

File Attachment:

File Name: frameref.txt
File Size:1 KB

 
Last edit: 2 years 11 months ago by Eric TINLOT.
2 years 11 months ago #69581
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 472
  • Thank you received: 165
Excellent, thanks for the controller responses, I'll double check that parsing of the fields is correct. Unfortunately the log file didn't contain any more information as the previous one, but I think this is enough for me to progress for now. I think I'll ask ScopeDome guys if there is anything that can be done software wise with the connection breaks, I don't have any problems with my controllers, but I power them directly and they are fairly close to each other so that's expected. Unfortunately not much I can do about the shutter if there isn't connection to control it...
2 years 11 months ago #69584

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 35
  • Thank you received: 0
i've started to identify the different field in the status frame on my side
i think there is an issue around the parsing or just after , as before doing anything just after connection, shutter is seen open by the frame (but it is closed)
2 years 11 months ago #69587

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 1.341 seconds