×

INDI Library v1.9.2 Released (14 Sep 2021)

Bimonthly Stable INDI Library release introduces new drivers and fixes for existing ones.

Internal Solver stopped working

  • Posts: 15
  • Thank you received: 2
Hi all, 

I was using solver on rpi 3b+, but when i run phd2 with ekos i do not have enough ram so I played a bit with config, and installed local astrometry. Local astrometry was a fail, as it uses 100% ram and cpu and freezes PI, so I wanted to return to local solver, but it falies now and I do not know why. Is there a way to reset it to defaults without full reset of ekos? 
Here is log :
2021-09-10T22:38:01 Solver Failed.2021-09-10T22:38:01 Solver was aborted, timed out, or failed, so no solution was found2021-09-10T22:34:04 Starting Internal StellarSolver Astrometry.net based Engine with the 4-SmallScaleSolving profile. . .2021-09-10T22:34:04 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++2021-09-10T22:34:04 Image width: 4056 pixels, Downsampled Image width: 2028 pixels; arcsec per pixel range: 1.16795 to 2.337482021-09-10T22:34:04 Scale range: 39.4768 to 79.0068 arcmin wide2021-09-10T22:34:04 Configuring StellarSolver2021-09-10T22:34:04 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++2021-09-10T22:34:04 Stars Found after Filtering: 502021-09-10T22:34:04 Keeping just the 50 brightest stars2021-09-10T22:34:04 Removing the stars with a/b ratios greater than 1.52021-09-10T22:34:04 Stars Found before Filtering: 5002021-09-10T22:34:02 Starting Internal StellarSolver Sextractor with the 4-SmallScaleSolving profile . . .2021-09-10T22:34:02 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++2021-09-10T22:33:49 Disabling the inParallel option.2021-09-10T22:33:49 Not enough RAM is available on this system for loading the index files you have in parallel2021-09-10T22:33:49 Evaluating Installed RAM for inParallel Option. Total Size of Index files: 0.303479 GB, Installed RAM: 0.839615 GB, Free RAM: 0.110916 GB2021-09-10T22:33:49 Automatically downsampling the image by 22021-09-10T22:33:49 Image received.2021-09-10T22:33:15 Capturing image...2021-09-10T22:31:04 Solver Failed.2021-09-10T22:31:04 Solver was aborted, timed out, or failed, so no solution was found2021-09-10T22:25:10 Starting Internal StellarSolver Astrometry.net based Engine with the 4-SmallScaleSolving profile. . .2021-09-10T22:25:10 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++2021-09-10T22:25:10 Image width: 4056 pixels, Downsampled Image width: 2028 pixels; arcsec per pixel range: 1.16795 to 2.337482021-09-10T22:25:10 Scale range: 39.4768 to 79.0068 arcmin wide2021-09-10T22:25:10 Configuring StellarSolver2021-09-10T22:25:10 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++2021-09-10T22:25:10 Stars Found after Filtering: 502021-09-10T22:25:10 Keeping just the 50 brightest stars2021-09-10T22:25:10 Removing the stars with a/b ratios greater than 1.52021-09-10T22:25:10 Stars Found before Filtering: 5002021-09-10T22:24:59 Starting Internal StellarSolver Sextractor with the 4-SmallScaleSolving profile . . .2021-09-10T22:24:59 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++2021-09-10T22:24:59 Disabling the inParallel option.2021-09-10T22:24:59 Not enough RAM is available on this system for loading the index files you have in parallel2021-09-10T22:24:59 Evaluating Installed RAM for inParallel Option. Total Size of Index files: 0.303479 GB, Installed RAM: 0.839615 GB, Free RAM: 0.124664 GB2021-09-10T22:24:59 Automatically downsampling the image by 22021-09-10T22:24:59 Image received.2021-09-10T22:24:35 Capturing image...2021-09-10T22:23:36 World Coordinate System (WCS) is enabled. CCD rotation must be set either manually in the CCD driver or by solving an image before proceeding to capture any further images, otherwise the WCS information may be invalid.2021-09-10T22:23:36 World Coordinate System (WCS) is enabled. CCD rotation must be set either manually in the CCD driver or by solving an image before proceeding to capture any further images, otherwise the WCS information may be invalid.2021-09-10T22:23:36 Idle.
Last edit: 1 month 5 days ago by Outta.
1 month 5 days ago #75394

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 62
  • Thank you received: 14
Two buttons in settings reset them (yellow in screen shot):
  1. the „down caret“ resetting 
  2. and the button in bottom left
Did you try them already? 
If that fails, replace ~/.local/share/kstars/SavedAlignProfiles.ini with a known good version.

 
The following user(s) said Thank You: Outta
1 month 5 days ago #75396
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 15
  • Thank you received: 2
Ok, so something is massively wrong with my EKOS/INDI
I decided ok I will. use online since there is no hope with local. First solve went good, but then it messed up my settings (FoV, FL,Focal ratio) since first successful solve no solves pass even using online nova astrometry.net,
But if I upload the image directly to nova, it gets solved in seconds.
Logs here:
 pastebin.com/eU8ERnKV

I believe EKOS is sending some self decided config that is wrong and no solver is able to solve anything with wrong information. Can I somehow disable sending of config to solvers? Let them solve it. 
Last edit: 1 month 4 days ago by Outta.
1 month 4 days ago #75443

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 778
  • Thank you received: 101
Go to 'Scale & Position' and disable hinting ("Use Scale", "Use Position")
And/or try other "Option profiles" for the Stellarsolver
openSUSE Tumbleweed KStars git INDI git
GPDX+EQMOD, CEM60EC, ASI2600/1600/290mini+EFW+EAF
The following user(s) said Thank You: Outta
1 month 3 days ago #75462

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 15
  • Thank you received: 2
You are, my sir, genius! Solving as baby both internal and online(online little better). 

I was going mad already :)
Last edit: 1 month 3 days ago by Outta.
1 month 3 days ago #75474

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 0
Will that make it do a blind solve?
Last edit: 4 weeks 15 hours ago by AstroMuni.
4 weeks 15 hours ago #75617

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 0
Would that do a blind solve?
Sorry for some strange reason I seem to be getting multiple posts
Last edit: 4 weeks 15 hours ago by AstroMuni.
4 weeks 15 hours ago #75618

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 15
  • Thank you received: 2
Probably yes, but blind solve is much better than no solve at all. 
​​​​​​ I always use sync option and I see if solve is near my target.

Also internal solver does not work at all, but I do not care too much as online is working. 
 
4 weeks 14 hours ago #75622

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 0
I had a similar problem when all the solvers suddenly stopped working from within Ekos. I ended up redoing all config from start with a fresh install.
Wish there was a simple way to backup all the Ekos related config at one go.
4 weeks 11 hours ago #75627

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 1.141 seconds