INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Newbie trying to test a camera

• Thank you received: 7
Hi all --

I am completely new to astrophotography, almost new to VMs, and no stranger to Linux (user since 1999). I'm sitting on my couch with my new ZWO ASI120MC-S, trying to test the camera out using Ekos.

So far I've experienced no happiness. There are or appear to be multiple places to get devices connected in KStars.

If I follow Tools->Devices->Device Manager, go down the list to 'CCD' and then pick 'ZWO CCD' and click 'Run service', I get the following

2016-05-01T02:15:51: startup: /usr/bin/indiserver -v -p 7624 -m 100 -f /tmp/indififo99bc1dc9
2016-05-01T02:15:51: listening to port 7624 on fd 3
FIFO: start indi_asi_ccd -n "ZWO CCD"
With name:
FIFO: Starting driver indi_asi_ccd with name (ZWO CCD)
2016-05-01T02:15:51: Driver indi_asi_ccd: pid=1371 rfd=4 wfd=7 efd=8
2016-05-01T02:15:51: Client 5: new arrival from 127.0.0.1:38242 - welcome!

... which, yup, looks pretty good. Now, if I go over to the Tools->Ekos screen, I select 'Local' for Indi mode, 'ZWO CCD' under 'Select Devices' and ... wait, there's a button to 'Start INDI'. Didn't I already do that? If I click this button anyway, I get a popup saying

Ekos detected an instance of INDI server running. Do you wish to shut down the existing instance before starting a new one?

I answer 'Yes', get the message "Connection to INDI host at localhost on port 7624 lost. Server disconnected." and KStars closes (or crashes).

If I try to get things started by going to the Ekos screen FIRST ... I pick 'ZWO CCD' and nothing else, hit 'Start INDI' and get

2016-05-01T05:30:43 Unable to establish:
+ ZWO CCD
Please ensure the device is connected and powered on.
2016-05-01T05:30:37 INDI services started on port 7627. Please connect devices.
2016-05-01T05:30:37 Starting INDI services...

The port number has changed ...