×

INDI Library v1.7.9 Released (23 Jun 2019)

INDI Library v1.7.9 is mostly a maintenance release to fix a few bugs in several drivers.

Ekos on Mac OS X ?

  • Posts: 418
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 81

Replied by nmac on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

Bring it on :-D, will test it too, once again thanks for your efforts!
(PT) SC@ROS Observatory
TS 6" F4 Newtonian / Canon 550D / GPU CC / Datyson T7M / Arduino Moonlite DC Clone- HEQ5 Pro
Explore Scientific 80APO - 120ST / G2-8300FW5 / ES FF 2" / ASI120MM - Arduino Moonlite DC Clone - Vixen GPD2
www.flickr.com/photos/139335144@N03/
The following user(s) said Thank You: rlancaste
2 years 6 months ago #14002
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 1715
  • Karma: 19
  • Thank you received: 516

Replied by rlancaste on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

Every now and then I have seen a dithering failure. I don't think it's a Mac issue though, it's a general one.
2 years 6 months ago #14003
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 418
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 81

Replied by nmac on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

Yes, I think the same, it has already happened on my x86_64 version.
(PT) SC@ROS Observatory
TS 6" F4 Newtonian / Canon 550D / GPU CC / Datyson T7M / Arduino Moonlite DC Clone- HEQ5 Pro
Explore Scientific 80APO - 120ST / G2-8300FW5 / ES FF 2" / ASI120MM - Arduino Moonlite DC Clone - Vixen GPD2
www.flickr.com/photos/139335144@N03/
2 years 6 months ago #14004
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 14
  • Thank you received: 2

Replied by jeam on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

Hi again,

I'm trying to use internal Astromety solver inside Ekos, but it's always failing. If I use external solver it works fine. I'm using internal Ekos Simulators.

From inside Ekos I get this log:

2017-01-22T19:33:09.264 - DEBG - Alignment: "Capturing image..."
2017-01-22T19:33:11.288 - DEBG - Alignment: "Image received."
2017-01-22T19:33:11.302 - DEBG - Alignment: "Starting solver..."
2017-01-22T19:33:11.307 - DEBG - Alignment: "/Applications/kstars.app/Contents/MacOS/astrometry/bin/solve-field --no-verify --no-plots --resort --downsample 2 -O -L 17.39 -H 24.0257 -u aw -3 0.1875 -4 90 -5 30 -W /var/folders/_x/yd53fmss1x96gs83jbw0hph80000gn/T/solution.wcs /var/folders/_x/yd53fmss1x96gs83jbw0hph80000gn/T/fitsORC791"
2017-01-22T19:33:11.326 - DEBG - Alignment: "Reading input file 1 of 1: \"/var/folders/_x/yd53fmss1x96gs83jbw0hph80000gn/T/fitsORC791\"..."
2017-01-22T19:33:11.405 - DEBG - Alignment: "Solver failed. Try again."

If I run the same comand from the Teminal it returns this:

iMac-de-Jordi:Library jeam$ /Applications/kstars.app/Contents/MacOS/astrometry/bin/solve-field --no-verify --no-plots --resort --downsample 2 -O -L 17.39 -H 24.0257 -u aw -3 0.1875 -4 90 -5 30 -W /var/folders/_x/yd53fmss1x96gs83jbw0hph80000gn/T/solution.wcs /var/folders/_x/yd53fmss1x96gs83jbw0hph80000gn/T/fitsORC791
Reading input file 1 of 1: "/var/folders/_x/yd53fmss1x96gs83jbw0hph80000gn/T/fitsORC791"...
/bin/sh: pnmfile: command not found
augment-xylist.c:589:backtick Failed to run command: pnmfile /tmp/tmp.ppm.8LobBz
ioutils.c:563:run_command_get_outputs Command not found: pnmfile /tmp/tmp.ppm.8LobBz
iMac-de-Jordi:Library jeam$

I suppose that my system is missing some component, but I don't know which.

Any help it's wellcome.

Jeam
2 years 5 months ago #14015
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 1715
  • Karma: 19
  • Thank you received: 516

Replied by rlancaste on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

Yes it is. I believe it is missing pyfits Try this from the command line:

pip install pyfits

and if that doesn't work, either install pip, or the home-brew version of python which includes pip

Also note that you need netpbm which can also be installed via homebrew.
2 years 5 months ago #14017
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 14
  • Thank you received: 2

Replied by jeam on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

It seems it is installed:

iMac-de-Jordi:Library jeam$ pip install pyfits
Requirement already satisfied: pyfits in /Library/Python/2.7/site-packages
Requirement already satisfied: numpy in /System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/Extras/lib/python (from pyfits)

How can I install netpbm via homebrew? Sorry I don't know what homebrew is?

Thanks!!!
2 years 5 months ago #14018
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 1715
  • Karma: 19
  • Thank you received: 516

Replied by rlancaste on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

I have been working really hard for the last couple of days and I think I am ready to put up a new DMG for you guys to try. It now includes a quick start guide, copyright information, a startup wizard, and the latest versions of all the software.

KSTARS NEW DMGKSTARS NEW DMG

I got rid of the annoying dialog boxes at startup and integrated that into a couple of pages of the already existing startup wizard. I also put some of the steps of configuration that I previously explained in the forum into the program and the Quickstart guide. Currently all of the features of the startup wizard are working except for the installers and checkboxes for netpbm, pyfits, and pip. I will need to revisit that part. It is pretty easy to do it from Terminal however.

Commands you need to type into terminal to do it manually:

ruby -e "$(curl -fsSL raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install)" < /dev/null 2> /dev/null
brew install python
brew install netpbm
The following user(s) said Thank You: jeam
2 years 5 months ago #14020
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 1715
  • Karma: 19
  • Thank you received: 516

Replied by rlancaste on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

jeam wrote: It seems it is installed:

iMac-de-Jordi:Library jeam$ pip install pyfits
Requirement already satisfied: pyfits in /Library/Python/2.7/site-packages
Requirement already satisfied: numpy in /System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/Extras/lib/python (from pyfits)

How can I install netpbm via homebrew? Sorry I don't know what homebrew is?

Thanks!!!


ruby -e "$(curl -fsSL raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install)" < /dev/null 2> /dev/null
brew install python
brew install netpbm
The following user(s) said Thank You: jeam
2 years 5 months ago #14021
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 14
  • Thank you received: 2

Replied by jeam on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

When I execute those commands I get this result:

iMac-de-Jordi:Library jeam$ ruby -e "$(curl -fsSL raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install)" < /dev/null 2> /dev/null
==> This script will install:
/usr/local/bin/brew
/usr/local/share/doc/homebrew
/usr/local/share/man/man1/brew.1
/usr/local/share/zsh/site-functions/_brew
/usr/local/etc/bash_completion.d/brew
/usr/local/Homebrew
iMac-de-Jordi:Library jeam$ brew install python
-bash: brew: command not found
iMac-de-Jordi:Library jeam$
iMac-de-Jordi:Library jeam$ brew install netpbm
-bash: brew: command not found
iMac-de-Jordi:Library jeam$

It seems that brew is not found.
2 years 5 months ago #14022
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 1715
  • Karma: 19
  • Thank you received: 516

Replied by rlancaste on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

You should see a place to enter your password after the first step

ruby -e "$(curl -fsSL raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install)" < /dev/null 2> /dev/null

==> This script will install:
/usr/local/bin/brew
/usr/local/share/doc/homebrew
/usr/local/share/man/man1/brew.1
/usr/local/share/zsh/site-functions/_brew
/usr/local/etc/bash_completion.d/brew
/usr/local/Homebrew
==> /usr/bin/sudo /bin/mkdir -p /Library/Caches/Homebrew
Password:
2 years 5 months ago #14023
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 1715
  • Karma: 19
  • Thank you received: 516

Replied by rlancaste on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

This is why I would like to get the installers working on the distribution version. They simplify these steps so much. But alas, my attempt to fix it today didn't work, so I need to figure it out. For now, installing home-brew and executing the two home-brew commands is actually necessary.
2 years 5 months ago #14024
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 418
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 81

Replied by nmac on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

Hi,

today I am having a real hard time trying to get autofocus to work.
It just doesn't work, always crashes KStars.
(PT) SC@ROS Observatory
TS 6" F4 Newtonian / Canon 550D / GPU CC / Datyson T7M / Arduino Moonlite DC Clone- HEQ5 Pro
Explore Scientific 80APO - 120ST / G2-8300FW5 / ES FF 2" / ASI120MM - Arduino Moonlite DC Clone - Vixen GPD2
www.flickr.com/photos/139335144@N03/
2 years 5 months ago #14025
The topic has been locked.
Time to create page: 0.279 seconds