×
INDI Library v1.8.3 Released (02 Jan 2020)

Minor monthly bugfix release with a new RainbowAstro mount driver and improved pier side simulation.

Python 3 Mac OSX

5 months 3 weeks ago
rlancaste
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 2043
Karma: 20
More
Python 3 Mac OSX #41317
The first step is installing homebrew. Are you saying that didn’t work or are you saying brew install python didn’t work?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 months 3 weeks ago
Lead_weight
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 259
Karma: 2
More
Python 3 Mac OSX #41318
I'm not really sure, I didn't see any progress indicator or system messages. But Ekos said "Python failed to install". So I don't specifically know where it failed.

-Andrew
––––––––––
Mac Observatory - All about using the Mac for Astrophotography: www.macobservatory.com
Astrobin: www.astrobin.com/users/Lead_Weight/

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 months 3 weeks ago
Lead_weight
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 259
Karma: 2
More
Python 3 Mac OSX #41320
OK, i figured it out. I already had Python 3 installed through another means, so it was somehow causing the script to fail from within EKOS. I had to create a link to brew from my install, and that still caused the script to not work. So then I told brew to reinstall python. After doing that, the EKSO script finished working to install the other component, and plate solving now works.

-Andrew
––––––––––
Mac Observatory - All about using the Mac for Astrophotography: www.macobservatory.com
Astrobin: www.astrobin.com/users/Lead_Weight/

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 months 3 weeks ago
rlancaste
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 2043
Karma: 20
More
Python 3 Mac OSX #41323
Gotcha, what was your means of installing python3? When I was working on this last month, everything I found said that the best way to do it was to use homebrew. I was hoping to find a simple installer, which I know I did several years ago, but as far as I could tell the new way is to use homebrew.

Obviously anyway it gets installed would be fine and the simpler the better. I will look at the interface again to make sure we are supporting people with alternate locations for python 3.

After I worked on this for kstars I made the INDI web manager app last month and i had to do something similar and I think I improved on it a little. I will see if I can apply that to KStars.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 months 3 weeks ago
rlancaste
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 2043
Karma: 20
More
Python 3 Mac OSX #41334
So I just looked back at what I did. KStars is running astrometry and INDI Web Manager app is running Indi-web, but they are both using python so that basics are the same. Note that there is no way to force astrometry.net to use a particular python executable. It just uses whatever python it finds first in your PATH. It is preferable that it uses python 3 instead of python 2. Basically the way I tell astrometry.net how to find python is to add whatever folder is specified to astrometry's PATH environment variable when it runs. For both KStars and INDI Web Manager App, I have left both the option to install and configure your own python setup as well as use an automated set of installation steps. For homebrew, python 3 once it is installed can be found at either /usr/local/bin/python3 or /usr/local/opt/python/libexec/bin/python.

For KStars, I have a button to setup everything automatically. But then if you uncheck the default checkbox, you can enter the path where python can be found and set up everything yourself as shown in these screenshots.




For INDI Web Manager App, I have a slightly different design. I have a green/red indicator that determines if everything is setup properly next to an install button. Then below that, I have the box where you can enter the path where python can be found. This box can be edited if you uncheck the default checkbox and you can enter whatever path python can be found at.



Is the current method in KStars sufficient for both people who want to install python themselves and people who want to use my automated installer, or is the way I did it in INDI Web Manager App better?

Thanks,

Rob
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 3 weeks ago
calberts
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 106
More
Python 3 Mac OSX #42406
i have same issue but i have the following error where in the pip3 configuration can i check this on mac

pip3 install astropy
Collecting astropy
Retrying (Retry(total=4, connect=None, read=None, redirect=None)) after connection broken by 'ProxyError('Cannot connect to proxy.', OSError('Tunnel connection failed: 503 Service Unavailable',))': /artifactory/api/pypi/pypi_python_org/simple/astropy/
Retrying (Retry(total=3, connect=None, read=None, redirect=None)) after connection broken by 'ProxyError('Cannot connect to proxy.', OSError('Tunnel connection failed: 503 Service Unavailable',))': /artifactory/api/pypi/pypi_python_org/simple/astropy/
Retrying (Retry(total=2, connect=None, read=None, redirect=None)) after connection broken by 'ProxyError('Cannot connect to proxy.', OSError('Tunnel connection failed: 503 Service Unavailable',))': /artifactory/api/pypi/pypi_python_org/simple/astropy/
Retrying (Retry(total=1, connect=None, read=None, redirect=None)) after connection broken by 'ProxyError('Cannot connect to proxy.', OSError('Tunnel connection failed: 503 Service Unavailable',))': /artifactory/api/pypi/pypi_python_org/simple/astropy/
Retrying (Retry(total=0, connect=None, read=None, redirect=None)) after connection broken by 'ProxyError('Cannot connect to proxy.', OSError('Tunnel connection failed: 503 Service Unavailable',))': /artifactory/api/pypi/pypi_python_org/simple/astropy/
Could not find a version that satisfies the requirement astropy (from versions: )
No matching distribution found for astropy

Chris

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 3 weeks ago
rlancaste
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 2043
Karma: 20
More
Python 3 Mac OSX #42412
Sounds like a server is down perhaps? Maybe try again later?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 3 weeks ago 4 months 3 weeks ago by rlancaste.
rlancaste
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 2043
Karma: 20
More
Python 3 Mac OSX #42413
Another possibility from searching online is that you might have an older version of pip3 because they moved servers:
to try upgrading type this into the terminal:
python3 -m pip install --upgrade pip

Or maybe a proxy issue?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 3 weeks ago
calberts
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 106
More
Python 3 Mac OSX #42446
I fixed it it was caused by my company setup of python, arfactory setup it looks our company servers
But still i have issue with solving offline not possible will it dit work i found a other thread of you with local install of atromery.net (binaries are missing) but still no success

chris

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.627 seconds