INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

ekos remote architecture question

• Thank you received: 117
Hello all,

I'm pretty new to KStars and Ekos, so please forgive me if my question is too uninformed. I am setting up my AP gear to use Stellarmate OS / Pi4. I like the idea of running a very empowered KStars planetarium/planning config on my laptop, but I'd ideally prefer to run Ekos (scheduler and device control) on the Pi4. When KStars/Ekos runs entirely on the Pi4, the Pi4 takes a bit of a computing hit due to KStars graphics viewed over VNC. It's also not quite as responsive as when run on a laptop/tablet. Finally, it also implies that a local laptop/tablet can't be put to sleep once image sequencing starts. It would seem that an ideal workflow would allow for any planning/planetarium functions to be done local to the laptop/tablet (i.e. KStars local), and any scheduling or device control tasks be "pushed" remote to the Pi4 (Ekos+INDI remote).

So, my question: when you are in the profile editor and you select a (Mode): remote host, what is actually happening under the covers? Is KStars running locally while Ekos/Indi run remote? Or are KStars and Ekos always running together on the same host? What are the "Mode" local/remote tradeoffs ? I don't quite understand what I've read in the docs and understanding the underlying architecture and implications would help. Thanks....

Doug S

RASA 11 + Celestron CGX-L, ASI EAF
ASI183mc pro + ASI290mm mini guidecam
Stellarmate OS/Pi4, PPB
PixInsight
4 years 3 months ago #46933

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 9
Hi Doug,