INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Can meridian flip be set before reaching meridian? Scope hits mount at zenith.

• Thank you received: 2
I've been using Stellarmate / Kstars to run my observatory and I'll admit that I'm a newbie to this system as well as the GEM mount. I recently went from a LX200 wedge to an EQ6R-Pro. I have a 12x12 plate on my pier which I mounted my new mount on top of, but finding that the corners stick out a bit too much and the scope contacts the corner and gets stuck. Fortunately, the EQ6R seems to have a clutch that prevents damage to anything, but obviously I need to avoid this!

Reading the HA> settings in the Capture module, from what I understand the setting is where the mount will flip at a certain hour/degrees <em>past</em> the meridian? I read a posting here about the HA setting and maybe I'm misunderstanding how that works. What I would like to do is set a flip somewhere before it reaches this corner of the mount, but a bit confused about the settings on this. I will have to either raise my mount a few more inches or maybe add a spacer at the scope/mount clamp, but I think that may still cause a problem, but just delay it a few minutes. I'll add the mount raising to my spring list of fixes, but for now I'm hoping there is a setting that can flip it before this happens.

Ideas?

Thanks!
Tom
Last edit: 4 years 2 months ago by Tom Gwilym.
4 years 2 months ago #47392
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 138
As you have seen at present Ekos doesn't allow a flip to be attempted until the meridian. It would be trivial to modify Ekos to allow a flip before the meridian - just allow the minmum flip hour angle to be negative.

But there are several snags: