×
INDI Library v1.8.6 Released (21 Aug 2020)

August 2020 release of INDI Library v1.8.6 introduces new drivers while providing fixes and improvements to existing devices and core framework.

Remote Astrometry

4 months 1 week ago
vtanguay
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 45
More
Topic Author
Remote Astrometry #54171
I believe I did:
sudo apt-get install astrometry.net
per this: indilib.org/about/ekos/alignment-module.html
I did not do:
sudo apt-get install kstars-bleeding astrometry.net

Is there a way to check that I installed the program correctly?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 1 week ago 4 months 1 week ago by Aurneth.
Aurneth
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 65
More
Remote Astrometry #54175
Can check on both astrometry.net and kstars-bleeding with the 'apt-cache policy':

astroberry@astroberry:~ $ apt-cache policy astrometry.net
astrometry.net:
Installed: 0.76+dfsg-3+b1
Candidate: 0.76+dfsg-3+b1
Version table:
*** 0.76+dfsg-3+b1 500
500 raspbian.raspberrypi.org/raspbian buster/main armhf Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

astroberry@astroberry:~ $ apt-cache policy kstars-bleeding
kstars-bleeding:
Installed: 6:3.4.0
Candidate: 6:3.4.2
Version table:
6:3.4.2 500
500 www.astroberry.io/repo buster/main armhf Packages
*** 6:3.4.0 100
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 1 week ago
Aurneth
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 65
More
Remote Astrometry #54177
Let's also take a look at the permissions of the astrometry files themselves:

astroberry@astroberry:~ $ ls -lh /usr/share/astrometry/
total 9.7G
-rw-r--r-- 1 nobody nogroup 101M Dec 7 2014 index-4202-00.fits
-rw-r--r-- 1 nobody nogroup 104M Dec 7 2014 index-4202-01.fits
... etc ...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 1 week ago
vtanguay
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 45
More
Topic Author
Remote Astrometry #54178
astrometry looks good:
Installed: 0.67+dfsg-1

kstars-bleeding (presumably this is the issue?
Installed: (none)

permissions:
total 2.3G
drwxr -xr -x 3 root root 4.0K Dec 7 2014 doc
-rw-r--r-- 1 vince vince 179M Dec 7 2014 index-4201-00.fits
etc..

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 1 week ago
Aurneth
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 65
More
Remote Astrometry #54179
You must have Kstars from the OS's repository installed? It's possible that version isn't recent enough to support offline astrometry plate solving.

So yes, best get the Kstars from the ppa in the links previously.

To help in daylight and without need of attaching mounts and such, you can create an additional Ekos profile. I call mine "Simulators" and I add a bunch of things like
Telescope Simulator for the mount
CCD Simulator for the imaging camera
Guide Simulator for the guide camera
That allows you to do a certain amount of "playing around".

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 1 week ago
vtanguay
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 45
More
Topic Author
Remote Astrometry #54186
Thanks for your help! I installed kstars-bleeding. Will test tonight and report back.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 1 week ago
vtanguay
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 45
More
Topic Author
Remote Astrometry #54204
Yeah... so still doesn't work. Let's go over my setup real quick:

INDI server running on RPi3. Now includes the astrometry driver which i confirmed is running.
I've confirmed that the astrometry program is installed as is Kstars (but I haven't done anything with them... should I be launching Kstars on the pi?)
Kstars/EKOS client is a Windows 10 machine.
The equipment profile has Astrometry as an Aux driver.
We've confirmed the index files are where they are supposed to be and permissions are ok.
I get the same behavior: it captures a picture, sends it to the solver and then solver fails.

What else can I try?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 1 week ago
knro
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 8391
Karma: 51
Remote Astrometry #54211
On Windows, Offline is not available, so you have to select remote and select Astrometry driver in your equipment profile.

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 1 week ago
vtanguay
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 45
More
Topic Author
Remote Astrometry #54217
Yes, that’s what I’m doing and still solver fails. Any ideas how to troubleshoot?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 1 week ago
Aurneth
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 65
More
Remote Astrometry #54219
I didn't realize you were accessing the RPi via KStars running in Windows; I thought you were running KStars directly on the RPi but via a VNC or browser interface from Windows.

I haven't yet set up a remote astrometry solver. As you're running Windows on your workstation, you don't have much choice in the matter, but I wouldn't normally set it up with the remote astrometry server running on the Pi as its processing power is limited compared to workstations. I mean I have it running locally on the Pi, but that's to ensure I have it when I'm in the middle of nowhere.

I'll have to look into how to set this up myself.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 1 week ago
Aurneth
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 65
More
Remote Astrometry #54230
After an hour or so at this using my desktop machine as the putative astrometry server and a laptop as the client doing astrometry look-ups, all I get are solver failed errors.

I had the indi astrometry driver loaded and enabled on the server profile (with Telescope Simulator and CCD Simulator) and the same on the client, with it connecting to the server's IP address. Everything appears to load up fine on the client machine. From the server machine, I can do a local (i.e. offline) "Resolve and Slew" on an existing FITS but when I try that on the client with "remote" set it just fails.

Is there a guide somewhere detailing exactly what has to be configured for remote astrometry to work, on both the server machine and the client machines?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 6 days ago
vtanguay
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 45
More
Topic Author
Remote Astrometry #54365
Ok, will give up on this. I installed ASTAP on my Windows machine (client) and it works great! It is blazing fast - solved in 0 seconds. Works for me. Thanks for your help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.746 seconds