INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Total newbie here, my struggles and final "success" - A total n00bs review

• Thank you received: 3
Hello Everyone,
I recently got a Raspberry Pi 4 and installed stellarmate OS on it. I did setup the system at home first, and made sure EKOS and everything worked as intended with my GEM45 as well as Sony A7S. I decided to use my laptop for polar alignment using iOptron App as various posts on the forum said it may or may not work. Since I would need my laptop anyways for VNC, I thought not to bother with that.

During the home setup, the biggest challenge I faced for for the Kstars app to not crash after taking a few images. I tried the generic driver as well as Sony DSLR driver. Camera in "PC remote mode". Then I finally figured it out. If I select "NATIVE" and also "SD CARD" it does not crash. However, even with "SD Card" the photo is not saved on camera SD but on the R-Pi SD card. But no worries. Its better to a have images that way

Fully successful, I went out to field and discovered that it would not plate solve. For an hour I tried focus etc., but I was barking up the wrong tree. The issue was the time. When at home, I had my internet connection, so the R-pi got correct time. But on the field I was connected through LAPTOP. Even though my mount has GPS, Stellarmate could not get correct time (though location was accurate). Only weird thing in location was that instead of -121 it appeared as +238 or something like that.
Connecting R-Pi to my phone fixed this problem as phone can get the time from internet through LTE. I have ordered that GPIO based RTC which should solve my problems when there is no network.

Once done, I was able to take images, but I did find the following issues