INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Focus Module crashes quite often with Canon DSLR and other (small) issues

• Thank you received: 1
Hi,
I am quite new to Ekos since I am just now upgrading to operating my telescope (mostly home build or modified) with a Raspi and Ekos.
I have two issues that I need some help with.
1. the focuser module keeps crashing - in particular when I am klicking on a star to get its HFR. This happens sometimes as soon as I click, sometimes when it tries to get an exposure for the subframe. It sometimes announces the upcoming crash by strange behavior - e.g. you click but the green box does not appear. This is really hindering my picture taking and is frustrating because sometimes it works, but not stable.
2. It might be that the next problem is sitting in front of the screen, but I would like to monitor the focus during picture taking with the capture module. It seems like this is possible (by reading the manual), but I cannot get my hands around how to make it work. My workflow is to complete an autofocus cycle (autofocus completes successfully and the dots show up in the v-curve window). Then I move over to the capture module and start my capture sequence. If I go to the focus module during the running capture sequence, I still see the dots from the autofocus operation before. I expected to see dots now, representing the HFR of my selected star for the subsequent captures. This way, I could monitor focus drift...
3. less of a problem, but curious anyways: I would expect for the last captured image to show up on the Ekos summary tab (the one with the wrench symbol). It shows the guiding info from PHD2 correctly, the autofocus info is frozen from the last autofocus HFR (but visible), but the picture area is "blank", meaning I only see the default "no parking at the horsehead nebular" picure of Ekos. This seems strange to me.