INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Ekos polar align help please

• Thank you received: 0
Hi crew,
Total newbie here trying to polar align.
Ekos plate solves and rotates the scope then tell me where to align a star, but I can’t see the target area.
Please see screen shot.
Does anyone know which settings I messed up?
Any advice is greatly appreciated!
3 years 2 months ago #66556
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 53
Like the instructions are telling you on the screen: Select a bright star to reposition the correction vector
3 years 2 months ago #66557

• Thank you received: 0

Replied by River on topic Ekos polar align help please

Many thanks kengs,

I selected several other stars on this and during a few different PA attempts. The correction vector always went way off screen.
My main imaging camera was turned off (as I am just trying to polar align at this stage)
I did get a message from ekos saying that my guide camera is the same as my main imaging camera, and did I want to proceed.
Do you think this could cause complications?
3 years 2 months ago #66559

• Thank you received: 20

Replied by hades on topic Ekos polar align help please

For me it seems that you are too away from NCP, that's why the vector is out of the screen. Try to fix the polar alignment first with polar scope in the mount and then rerun the ekos polar align tool. If it will be still so terrible, that could mean that your polar scope is not perfectly aligned with the RA axis and need to align.
The following user(s) said Thank You: River
3 years 2 months ago #66561

• Thank you received: 420