INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Tips for Auto-Focus

• Thank you received: 56
I know that a lot of people use the Autofocus function with success but I have never got it to give me a sharp focus. I have been using a Bahtinov mask which always works well. Last night it was cold and I thought let's give autofocus another try. It completed successfully and I started imaging. When I took a look this morning (I know I should have checked last night) the images I though looked good we're all out of focus.
Does anyone have any tips?
3 years 3 weeks ago #68262

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 30

Replied by Joaquin on topic Tips for Auto-Focus

I am a beginner with autofocus. Still it has worked well (for my expectations) from the beginning.
Only trick is to perform a manual focus before starting the automatic procedure. The range scanned by the automatic procedure is relatively short so you need to start already close to the minimum.
My two cents.
The following user(s) said Thank You: AstroNerd, Rishi Garrod
3 years 3 weeks ago #68276

• Thank you received: 7

Replied by Miguel on topic Tips for Auto-Focus

I've also purchased recently a motor focus. Could not tried it yet; it's cloudy. But yes, I agree with with jabian and that's one of the things I know I should take into account, to be at least a bit close to the focus point.

m
The following user(s) said Thank You: Rishi Garrod
3 years 3 weeks ago #68291

• Thank you received: 10

Replied by Michael on topic Tips for Auto-Focus

There is no one size fits all.
I like “auto select star” and “ use subframes”
Here is my setup and routine, working with a diy arduino based, 3D printed focuser.
Inherently this little machine has a fair amount of backlash, which is often the reason for failed processes.