INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Focuser algorithm(s) question w/ Olympus (focus-by-wire)

• Thank you received: 0
I'm relatively new to EKOS, and brand new to the focusing module, so forgive me if this is a stupid question ..

Basically I just started trying to use focus in EKOS, and everything looks good on the first pass (a nice curve is generated) but the issue arises when it tries to return to the starting focus point to get back to that sweet spot. I decreased step size down to 5, and that looks quite nice, but after the algorithm determines it's time to move back to the starting position, I will see something like focusing outward 75 steps, inward 50 steps. However, I don't believe that it's actually now focuses at the point where it thinks. Rather, it doesn't even make it back to the other side of the curve, and focus just keeps getting worse.

I suspect it has something to do with either the focus-by-wire of the Olympus and possibly the inertial focusing that it also has when using MF. (I'm ignorant when it comes to how these focusing steps/pulses are being sent to the camera).

So the big question is ... is there a way to get the algorithm to just reverse itself and settle back into the peak focus of the curve rather than attempting to return to the starting focus point? I've run out of time to test with the other algorithms, but they seemed to behave in a similar fashion. Something that just steps a discrete amount inward to generate the curve, and then that same amount outward to return to prime focus seems like it would work.

In the attached (and ever so beautiful) screenshot, you can see shots 1-8 look good ... but when it *thinks* it's returned to around the starting focus position, it's not quite there and focus just gets worse and worse ...
1 year 6 months ago #86355
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 276
Hi Abe,