INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Can someone help me understand elative and absolute focuser position?

• Thank you received: 0
I'm a college student working on client development using PyIndi-Client for a research project with a professor. There are standard properties for focusers called REL_FOCUS_POSITION and ABS_FOCUS_POSITION for which I'm trying to write functions to change their values. Or, rather, I would like to be able to do that, but I don't understand what they are or what the difference between them is. I do know that you can use getNumber("REL_FOCUS_POSITION") to access the list of members, change the value and send it back to the indiclient, but I don't know what the numbers mean. Here's what some of my code looks like right now:

@app.route('/focuser/abs_focus=<int:steps>')
def set_focus_abspos(steps):
    abs_focus_pos=device_focuser.getNumber("ABS_FOCUS_POSITION")
    abs_focus_pos[0].value=steps
    indiclient.sendNewNumber(abs_focus_pos)
    return make_response(jsonify('Absolute focus position set to: ' +
                                 str(abs_focus_pos[0].value)),200)

The app.route stuff is from a package called Flask, for anyone who might not recognize that. So you see that a number of steps is passed into the function, but what does that number actually represent?

I'm still pretty novice when it comes to this stuff, so I'm trying to build a deeper understanding. When I googled this question, I didn't see any real explanations, so I would appreciate any clarification someone could give me.
Last edit: 3 years 11 months ago by Stephen Berg. Reason: Fixed code
3 years 11 months ago #53577

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 102