INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Plate Solving at Long Focal Lengths

• Thank you received: 2
Hi

I'm pretty new to Ekos/KStars and have just been trying to get a 2x Barlow working on a AWO 224MC with a 300 PDS, equivalent focal length of 3000mm. It was working fine without the barlow but I'm getting the following error almost every time:

Once in a blue moon it works though

For some reason I don't seem to get the logging to file working but if I tell it not to log in a separate file I see this:Does anyone have any guidance?

Thanks

James
2 years 8 months ago #74301
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 31
James,

I suggest you bin 2x2 or 3x3.

Paul
2 years 8 months ago #74306

Hi Paul

Thanks for the reply, I couldn't see why binning would help but I actually tried it earlier anyway. 2x2 is supported and made no difference to the issue

James
2 years 8 months ago #74309

James,

The stars in the image look a bit bloated, have you performed a focus run first?

Also, 3000mm is a tiny field of view, have you loaded all the index files?

Paul
2 years 8 months ago #74312

James,

One other thing I just noticed is that you have defined the focal length as 3000mm but it shows 3459 in brackets.
If 3459mm is the actual focal length then that should be used as I have found that the faster and more reliable it is.
And also there is a way of setting the timeout that could be extended in one of the sub menues.

Paul
2 years 8 months ago #74313

Hi Paul

Yes the stars do look bloated but it was Bahtinov mask focused and is taking reasonable pictures which I can't quite explain (example below)

All index files are loaded, I had to grab an ~8 and ~14 GB file when I changed tp 3,000mm

I noticed the 3459 last night and set it to that (I'm not sure how it calculated this though as it shouldn't be), it seemed to speed things up but still failed.