INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

FlipFlat not working with Canon dslr

• Thank you received: 9
Thanks Jasem,
Could you also clarify for me too. In Calibration it is only possible to select 'Dust Cover with External Flat Light' OR 'Wall' location. When using the Wall option it only moves the mount but doesn't control the Flap or Light as the External Flap Light option does. Could it be possible to select BOTH these option not just one? I can work around it by taking a dummy flat frame with Wall option selected to move the mount then follow with the real Flats with the External Flap Light selected but it would be nice to do it in one step.

I'm relatively new to ekos/indi but loving it.
4 years 10 months ago #39415

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hi Jasem,

An update on this.

I have been able to get my DSLR working with FlipFlat by adding 'CCD_HAS_SHUTTER' to the 'SetCCDCapability' function of gphoto.cpp.

I have also detected another issue that affects both the CCD Simulator as well as other CCD's.

When taking a Light frame from a starting position of Shutter closed all works as expected.
When taking a Flat frame (external light source) from a starting position of Shutter closed
Kstars/ekos commands the shutter to open correctly but doesn't wait for the Shutter to open, it
immediately takes the frame while the shutter is still opening. I was able to get this working
correctly by making the follow change to capture.cpp in Kstars. Hope this is useful to you.

Change from...
// Wait until cap is parked
if (calibrationStage == CAL_DUSTCAP_UNPARKING)
{
if (dustCap->isParked() == true)
return IPS_BUSY;
else
{
calibrationStage = CAL_DUSTCAP_UNPARKED;
appendLogText(i18n("Dust cap unparked."));
}
}

..to...

// Wait until cap is unparked <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
{
if (dustCap->isUnParked() == false) <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
return IPS_BUSY;
else
{
}
}