INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

What is your imaging workflow when using Ekos?

• Thank you received: 1
Hi there,

A noob question, so apologies.

I'm relatively new to Ekos and astrophotography. I was wondering what workflow people use when using KStars/Ekos for their imaging session? How do you step through the various tabs? Do you use a specific order?

Thanks in advance?

Rene
4 years 9 months ago #39961

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 809
Sure, here is what I tend to do:

1. Setup your profile and connect
2. Go to Focus module, roughly focus, and then do an autofocus
3. Go to Align module, Slew to a couple of stars in different parts of the sky and plate solve on them
4. Go to a target you want to image.
5. Go to Capture module, do some preview images, get the frame set up nicely
6. Go to Guide module and get guiding set up.
7. Go back to Capture Module and set up the sequence.
8. Start imaging.

But there are many ways to do things, that is just my usual method.

Thanks,

Rob
The following user(s) said Thank You: Jerry Black
4 years 9 months ago #39965

• Thank you received: 86
Rob - you forgot the polar alignment... : ) (my setup is mobile, so I have to do this every time)
0. Level tripod, point scope to the North Pole as accurately as you can.
3. In Align module, Slew to a couple of stars in different parts of the sky and plate solve on them
3.1 In Align module, do Polar Alignment
3.2 In Align module, again slew to a couple of stars in different parts of the sky and plate solve on them
-- Max S
ZWO AM5. RST-135. AZ-GTI. HEQ5. iOptron SkyTracker.
TPO RC6. FRA400. Rokinon 135 and other lenses.
ZWO ASI2600MC. D5500 modified with UVIR clip-in filter.
ZWO ASI120MM Mini x 2. ZWO 30F4 guider. Orion 50mm guider.
ZWO EAF x 2.
Last edit: 4 years 9 months ago by maxthebuilder.
4 years 9 months ago #39966

• Thank you received: 420