×
INDI Library v1.8.1 Released (09 Sep 2019)

Monthly maintenance release INDI v1.8.1

Help - EQMod settings - Ekos

1 month 6 days ago
Ihoujin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 709
Karma: 3
More
Help - EQMod settings - Ekos #45180
You can try clearing the alignment model when it starts behaving oddly.

INDI/KStars on Raspberry Pi 4, 4gb
Raspbian Buster with AstroPi3 script configuration
Skywatcher HEQ5 Pro Mount
Canon 600D Camera
Orion SSAG/ASI120mm @280mm Guide Scope
PHD2
Adafruit Motor Hat shield
Adafruit GPS Module
Generic Bluetooth Joystick.
Startech 7 port powered USB Hub.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 6 days ago 1 month 6 days ago by wornish.
wornish
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 24
More
Topic Author
Help - EQMod settings - Ekos #45190
Thanks, I have tried clearing the alignment model and purging all the settings - still does not work.
The mount does not do a meridien flip.
It works fine using the mount simulator.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 6 days ago
wvreeven
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 1111
Karma: 6
More
Help - EQMod settings - Ekos #45191
Hmm it looks like you are saying two different things now. In your first post you mention not being able to point the telescope within 2' and in the second that the meridian flip doesn't work. So perhaps something more is going on then what lhoujin replied to.

Would it be possible to enable debug logging to file on Ekos INDI, Ekos Alignment, Ekos Mount and Drivers Mount and post the ountput here? In the Ekos Setup tab click the Logs button and enable the options I indicated. Then use the mount normally and try to first point at a source east and then one west of the meridian and post the logs here.

ASI1600MM-Pro Cooled and filter wheel with a SkyWatcher Esprit 80 ED on a SkyWatcher HEQ5-Pro

ASI1600MM-Pro Cooled and filter wheel with an 8" TS Ritchey-Chrétien on a SkyWatcher EQ6-R
The following user(s) said Thank You wornish

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 6 days ago
wornish
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 24
More
Topic Author
Help - EQMod settings - Ekos #45194
Thanks, I will try today but won't be able to the alignment piece until the next clear sky. At least the mount should do a flip ?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 6 days ago
wornish
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 24
More
Topic Author
Help - EQMod settings - Ekos #45197

wvreeven wrote: Hmm it looks like you are saying two different things now. In your first post you mention not being able to point the telescope within 2' and in the second that the meridian flip doesn't work. So perhaps something more is going on then what lhoujin replied to.

Would it be possible to enable debug logging to file on Ekos INDI, Ekos Alignment, Ekos Mount and Drivers Mount and post the ountput here? In the Ekos Setup tab click the Logs button and enable the options I indicated. Then use the mount normally and try to first point at a source east and then one west of the meridian and post the logs here.



Really appreciate the help. Just did a run starting from Parked. First did a move East selected Vega and did EqMt - GoTo. Then selected Capella and did a move West. The mount icon moved to both. Obviously could not do plate solve as its daytime.

Attached Verbose LogFile as requested.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 6 days ago
wornish
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 24
More
Topic Author
Help - EQMod settings - Ekos #45198
Just did a second run. The mount certainly does a Meridien Flip so sorry for the confusion.

The attached log file is going from Park using GoTo.
First East to Nekkar, then West to Merak.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 6 days ago
wvreeven
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 1111
Karma: 6
More
Help - EQMod settings - Ekos #45200
OK great to see that a dry run at least shows that a meridian flip is done. Let's wait for a clear night to see how well the pointing accuracy behaves.

ASI1600MM-Pro Cooled and filter wheel with a SkyWatcher Esprit 80 ED on a SkyWatcher HEQ5-Pro

ASI1600MM-Pro Cooled and filter wheel with an 8" TS Ritchey-Chrétien on a SkyWatcher EQ6-R
The following user(s) said Thank You wornish

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 6 days ago
hy
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 114
More
Help - EQMod settings - Ekos #45217
I took a quick look at your logfile.
The first line is
[2019-10-30T10:18:23.081 GMT INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos] - "Enabling debug logging for EQMod Mount..."
You are in England.
Wouldn't 10:18GMT be daytime?

My guess is that your system clock is wrong, and if your system clock is 12 hours off, all bets are off!
This has happened to me several times--the Raspberry Pi doesn't have an internal clock, so if you're not on a network, it's not going to know what time it is when the power is turned on.

A good thing to know is the Unix command for setting the current day/time.

Can't check it now, but I believe it would be something like this:
sudo date -s CORRECT_DATE_TIME
e.g.
sudo date -s "10/30/2019 11:15pm"
but I'm not 100% sure (especially of whether month or day comes first).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 6 days ago
wornish
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 24
More
Topic Author
Help - EQMod settings - Ekos #45218
Thanks for the reply. I thought I made it clear that I ran the test with the log file attached this morning in the UK indoors that's why I could not test the alignment part, there are no stars in the morning!
The system clock was correct as was the log file.

I will try again as soon as I get clear skies (in Cheshire,UK that could be a while :)

I really appreciate everyone giving input.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 4 days ago
jpaana
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 220
Karma: 5
More
Help - EQMod settings - Ekos #45284
One thing to check is alignment mode in align tab of EQMod driver. "Nearest point" seems to work better with iterative plate solving based alignment where a lot of points are created. The default at least used to be "N-Star" which should be better and seems to work fine if the points aren't close together or near meridian, but breaks down in weird ways when there are a lot of points close to each other and also near meridian.

Remote observatory running Ubuntu 19.10 x64 with ScopeDome 2M, Skywatcher EQ8 and HEQ5, TS 8" RC, Atik 383L+, ASI178MC, ASI120MM-S, SX Lodestar X2, SX USB wheel with OAG, ZWO EAF, USB_Focus V3, Gemini SnapCap, USB_DewPoint, KomaHub
The following user(s) said Thank You wornish

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 3 days ago
geehalel
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 184
Karma: 16
More
Help - EQMod settings - Ekos #45354
Looking at your log files, I saw two communication errors. In the first file,
[2019-10-30T10:23:21.998 GMT DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] dispatch_command: \":d1\", 4 bytes written "
[2019-10-30T10:23:22.021 GMT DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read_eqmod: \"=8\", 9 bytes read "
[2019-10-30T10:23:22.023 GMT DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] dispatch_command: \":d2\", 4 bytes written "
[2019-10-30T10:23:22.032 GMT DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read_eqmod: \"=3B0980\", 8 bytes read "
[2019-10-30T10:23:22.032 GMT DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "Error: Invalid range for RA Steps (AUXENCRASteps). Valid range is from 0 to 1.67772e+07. Requested value is 4.29497e+09 "
And in the second one,
[2019-10-30T11:26:33.698 GMT DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] dispatch_command: \":j2\", 4 bytes written "
[2019-10-30T11:26:33.711 GMT DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read_eqmod: \"=\", 9 bytes read "
[2019-10-30T11:26:33.714 GMT DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[SCOPE] GetDEEncoder() = -759 "
[2019-10-30T11:26:33.715 GMT DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[SCOPE] Current encoders RA=7163292 DE=-759 "
[2019-10-30T11:26:33.722 GMT DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "Error: Invalid range for DE Steps (DEStepsCurrent). Valid range is from 0 to 1.67772e+07. Requested value is 4.29497e+09 "
It seems some NULL characters have been inserted in the reply of both the RA motor controller and the DE motor controller.
You say that the mount has worked for months before, maybe you could check your serial/USB cable.
The following user(s) said Thank You wornish

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 3 days ago 1 month 3 days ago by wornish.
wornish
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 24
More
Topic Author
Help - EQMod settings - Ekos #45358
Thanks for checking the log files.
I have had the mount for over two years and it has worked all that time using direct connections to my Windows10 laptop running APT.
I replaced the laptop early this year (April) with a Raspberry Pi4 running Kstars/Ekos and that worked since then without issues.

I have not had a chance (due to clouds) to get out since this issue but I will certainly check the cable and try again. Perhaps it was a cable snag as the mount rotated? My indoor testing works fine as far as I can tell.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.745 seconds