INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Guiding calibration with too small star movement

• Thank you received: 8
Hi all

As I'm still pretty new to Ekos/Indi, I hope you can forgive me should I write any wrong assumptions or conclusions.

With KStars 3.3.8 I could produce pretty good frames. Polar alignment and guide calibration where both done smoothly and I was able to take frames a whole night.
Last week I went to the mountains here where the sky is perfectly dark. In the meantime I had upgraded to KStars 3.3.9.

Polar alignment takes the first image and solves it and then text next step is to crash KStars. This happens many times, or lets say I dropped the idea of doing a Ekos based polar alignment. The unsuccessful polar alignment is my minor problem.

My biggest problem is the calibration in the guide module. Ekos selects a star and stars the calibration. The movements of the mount that the calibration routine issues are so small that even after 10 calibration step the selected star hardly moves. About 1 out of 5 calibrations, the guide module actually accepts the calibration as successful and stars guiding, the other 4 times calibration aborts with the message that the star didn't move enough.
But as I was assuming that the calibration is good after noticing that the guider is working I started to take frames.
While doing so I checked the guide module and I was pretty shocked about the correction graphs of the guider. The selected star jumped around like a ping-pong ball, it was most of the time in the red or yellow zone, rarely in the green. Of course all my frames were unusable.
I think that Ekos accepted the calibration even though the star movement was too small during the calibration.

The next day at home I installed PHD2 after waiting for a long time until PHD2 was finally ported to 64bit macOS and immediately went out to test it.