INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Continued issues with the Nexdome firmware 4.0 upgrade - SOLVED!

• Thank you received: 155
I've only used INDI with KStars/EKOS since I started digital astrophotography several years ago. I first want to thank Jasem and others who have put so much work into KStars/Ekos and INDI drivers, and helped me save many problems. But now that I am running a remote observatory, I have found that I need to see what else is out there. I have a Nexdome observatory and they upgraded their firmware and solved a major issue with the slaving going out of sync after an hour or so. But there is no INDI driver for the new firmware and so I have not been able to use the observatory since. So this is a good time to try other software, Windows ASCOM software that I have never used before.

I bought my very first ever Windows PC for this endeavor (I have only used Macs and Linux since 1996). This first foray into Windows has not been fun. But I am making headway. I did waste three hours today before I learned that you need Windows drivers for my cameras and other gear. My Macs never needed such things. The second thing that I learned is that ASCOM is messy. So many tools and apps just to connect one dome. I ended up trying NINA to see if it works with all my gear and the dome.

Today I have finally got everything connected, and will test it out on the next clear night. But I have been reading about NINA and its polar alignment routine is not nearly as nice as EKOS's. And I am forced to use an external guider like PHD2 and that will be a real test. I tried PHD2 last year and it would not play well with my CEM120 EC2 mount. I never could get it to work, as it fights with the encoders. But EKOS's multistar worked like a charm. If I can't get PHD2 to work, then my experiment with NINA and ASCOM will be over.