INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Installing on Rpi 4, running Ubuntu 20.1 - the why and how (sort of)

• Thank you received: 17
Disclaimer: I am NOT a developer and NOT associated with this project, but I have been a user for a couple of years and I have had help from both the users and developers of these programs and I am just trying to offer my experience as it may help someone else.

Why: I have been running the Astroberry Server on (first on an Rpi 3 and now) an Rpi 4, under a Raspbian (buster) 32 bit OS. I have the RPi at the scope (I roll it out from the garage) and all the equipment connected to a powered USB 3.0 hub. I connect to the Rpi over ethernet cable to my home network using the Astroberry Server or VNC. Recently (since adding local plate-solving) I have had issues with Kstars/Ekos crashing during plate-solving and syncing the mount (Celestron CGEM). After studying the logs it seemed that memory locations were being over-written as I would see nonsense numbers (10 to the -289) as scale in the logs. There was experience from others that suggested a 64 bit OS was the way to go. I thought about changing the OS to an Ubuntu 64 bit system but was told that the Astroberry Server would not work on that OS. But I decided to go that route anyway and forgo the Astroberry Server and just run Kstars/Ekos and the IndiwebManager, but I also needed VNC access as I run everything remotely.

How: It took me a couple of days, with help, to get everything up and running under the Ubuntu 20.1 OS. I am not a programmer but having used Linux on the Rpi for numerous projects I am pretty familiar with using the command line. I offer the following as the best-effort of reading my notes and suggestions from others (do this at your own risk - of maybe messing up a new SD card!):

# Download and install Raspberry Pi Imager: Rpi Imager