INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

celestron CGX/L

• Thank you received: 0

celestron CGX/L was created by guy

I am new to kstars/ekos/indi (kstars 3.5.5 stable), which is on my ubuntu 20.04 laptop.
I wish to create a new profile fo a CGX/L mount. How should I connect the mount to the laptop :
1) with a standard USB B type cable into the USB port on the mount ?
2) or with a USB-mini USB cable to the NexStar+ hand control’s mini USB port ?
Which driver should I use : Celestron CGX ? Celestron NexStar ?
Thank you
Guy
2 years 6 months ago #76005

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by Jasem Mutlaq on topic celestron CGX/L

I don't think #1 works (but it's worth a try!). Celestron CGX and Celestron Nexstar are the same driver, just different labels.
2 years 6 months ago #76006

Replied by guy on topic celestron CGX/L

Hi Jasem,
I did a test with #2 with the mount on a table and it worked OK, so I am looking forward to doing a real test on the sky as soon as possible
Thank you a lot
Guy
2 years 6 months ago #76007

• Thank you received: 117

Replied by Doug S on topic celestron CGX/L

You should be fine. I also have a CGX-L, and only use the USB-B cable to the mount head when I need to run CPWI and PECTool. Otherwise, when running Kstars/Ekos, use the hand controller miniusb interface. From a cable management and robust PI4 perspective, I found the cleanest solution is to use a powered USB hub. Since the hand controller is only used for power-up initialization, I've velcro'd it to the front end of the dovetail plate and use the top end (RA axis) AUX interface. Only a power cord is required to come up on top from below. In my case, I added a bundled ethernet cable (fast transfers). The whole top end looks like the image....clean. I recommend the low end PowerBox and SSD replacement of the SD card too.  Good luck as you sort out your own config! CS Doug