INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

ISS Tracking

• Thank you received: 0

ISS Tracking was created by Lucas

Hi everyone,

This is my first post!
Please excuse in advance my newbiness, as I'm new to the astronomy field.

I would like to ask the community if someone has by any chance already experimented tracking the ISS using a GOTO mount (I am considering an EQ6) and if yes, what kind of setup is expected using INDI.

Do I need to write a custom client to send instructions to the server or can I use already made tools? I will probably use a TLE from which I can derived Az-El profiles.

Thanks a lot for your ideas!

Lucas
7 years 7 months ago #9646

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by Jasem Mutlaq on topic ISS Tracking

Hi Lucas,

Well, KStars supports satellites including ISS, however, if you try to "track" it, it would just slew there and track it like a star. Perhaps you can add mount tracking feature to KStars? :D
7 years 7 months ago #9650

• Thank you received: 809

Replied by Rob Lancaster on topic ISS Tracking

Cool idea! One big problem is that some mounts can do this and others cannot. There was software being developed a long time ago called Satellite Tracker, which I believe was freeware and open source, but it was Windows only. It was supposed to work great with LX200 mounts, but my mount is a Losmandy Gemini. I had tried the program at one point and found that my mount could only use the "leap frog" method of satellite tracking rather than differential tracking rates which the LX200 can do. The frustrating part was that the mount itself is supposed to be capable of custom tracking rates, but the software in the hand paddle only allows goto commands and just a couple of predefined tracking rates. But if you have an LX200 and a PC, you are in luck. I just did a quick google search and this looks like the software I remember: www.heavenscape.com