×
INDI Library v1.8.1 Released (09 Sep 2019)

Monthly maintenance release INDI v1.8.1

Celestron AVX mount and Starsense

1 year 1 month ago
suramare
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 10
More
Celestron AVX mount and Starsense #29913

knro wrote: I've updated the driver, can you pull and test it?


Hi Jasem,

Yes, I did it today, worked like a charm , thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 year 1 month ago
suramare
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 10
More
Celestron AVX mount and Starsense #29916
Regarding StarSense: I didn't had the time to do thorough tests, I had some mechanical issues with my mount, but I can't confirm yet that StarSense is working OK, i"ve noticed some issues and I think that on the sources are some extra restrictions in addition to the NexStar+, I will check that over the weekend. (I hope)

On the other hand, so far I can tell that NexStar+ works quite OK regarding the GPS module issue if recompiled with && fwInfo.Model != "AVX" removed.
I've noticed this: If kstars was stared and INDI server was started once, stopping the client - and RasPi (StellarMateOS) was kept running, then starting again kstars (locally on RasPi or/and remotelly on other linux client) produced driver error messages complaining about RA coordinates. After disconnect/connect AVX driver from INDI Control Panel, everything was fine. I can live with it ;)

Nevertheless it was only a dry test battery - I've done Only QuickAlign then track to Polaris, but I assume that the driver works just nice. No other errors, no crashes.

I will greatly appreciate a "crash course" or a comprehesive tutorial link on how to :
- connect from a linux shell on serial to the NexStar/StarSense
- issue commands over connected terminal to the HC
It's pure curiosity :)
... for now! :))

Btw, is there a list of dependencies for kstars building on opensuse? cousin google wasn't very helpful

Cheers,
Lucian

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 year 1 month ago
suramare
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 10
More
Celestron AVX mount and Starsense #29925
Hi Jasem,
I have some updates for you:

NexStar +
Tests with NexStar+ were definitely positive. My NexStar version is 5.29
On the other hand as per software.celestron.com/updates/CFM/CFM/F...Revision_History.pdf :
5.28.5300 11/2015 Bug Fix: RS-232 “h” command failures

Maybe is OK to drop from the code the restriction ?


StarSense

My StarSense version is 1.19.
I'm not a developer but, as far as I can understand, the test below:
if (fwInfo.controllerVersion >= 2.3 && fwInfo.Model != "AVX" && fwInfo.Model != "CGE Pro")

will completely exclude StarSense from start since the latest version of it is 1.19.17055 (see mentioned link).
Also bool CelestronGPS::updateProperties() is affected, by example (line 239) :
if (fwInfo.controllerVersion >= 2.3)
cap |= TELESCOPE_HAS_TRACK_MODE | TELESCOPE_CAN_CONTROL_TRACK;
else
LOG_WARN("Mount firmware does not support track mode.");
I can confirm that I receive all the time this log warn.

If you're considering to adjust the code regarding StarSense I'm glad to help with some testing.

Have a nice day,
Lucian

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 year 1 month ago
knro
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7361
Karma: 51
Celestron AVX mount and Starsense #29926
These lines were all replaced with checkMinVersion(..). Now the only remaining issue I see is that in UpdateProperties(...) if it detects StarSense then it will not enable parking support.
if (fwInfo.controllerVariant == ISSTARSENSE)
        {
            if (fwInfo.controllerVersion >= MINSTSENSVER)
                LOG_INFO("Starsense controller detected.");
            else
                LOGF_WARN("Starsense controller detected, but firmware is too old. "
                        "Current version is %4.2f, but minimum required version is %4.2f. "
                        "Please update your Starsense firmware.",
                        fwInfo.controllerVersion, MINSTSENSVER);
        }
        else
            cap |= TELESCOPE_CAN_PARK;

There is a comment there:

Since issues have been observed with Starsense, enabe parking only with Nexstar controller


So I'm not sure what the issues are with parking and starsense exactly. This is one area you could do more testing.

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 year 1 month ago
suramare
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 10
More
Celestron AVX mount and Starsense #29928
Hi again,

Just pulled from git the fresh code.
I've enabled parking for StarSense:

if (fwInfo.controllerVersion >= MINSTSENSVER)
{
LOG_INFO("Starsense controller detected.");
cap |= TELESCOPE_CAN_PARK;
}

Then recompiled indi, and made some tests, they went well:

1. started kstars. started indi, mount was unparked, parked ok in the right position. stopped indi, kstars, no errors

2.1 started kstars. geographic was set at a random location.

2.2.1 started indi, mount was found parked:
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] InitPark Axis1 90.0136 Axis2 90.0132 "
org.kde.kstars.indi: < Celestron NexStar >: < Use Pulse Cmd >

2.2.2 date/time updated correctly:
org.kde.kstars.indi: < Celestron NexStar >: < TELESCOPE_TIMED_GUIDE_NS >
org.kde.kstars.indi: < Celestron NexStar >: < TELESCOPE_TIMED_GUIDE_WE >
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] CMD <t> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] RES <00 23> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] CMD <h> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] RES <0D 3B 0F 09 1C 12 02 01 23> "
org.kde.kstars: Daylight Saving Time active
org.kde.kstars: Next Daylight Savings Time change (Local Time): "Sun Nov 4 02:00:00 2018 GMT"
org.kde.kstars: Next Daylight Savings Time change (UTC): "Sun Nov 4 09:00:00 2018 GMT"

2.2.3 location updated correctly:
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] Toggle Debug Level -- Scope Verbose "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] Toggle Logging Level -- Messages "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] Setting location (24.168,45.853) "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] CMD <57 2D 33 0A 00 18 0A 06 00> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] RES <#> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] Configuration successfully saved for GEOGRAPHIC_COORD. "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] Configuration successfully loaded. "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] CMD <E> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] RES <32AE,3FFA#> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[SCOPE] RA-DEC ( 4:45:04,89:58:01) "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] Configuration successfully saved. "

2.2.4 mount unparked successfully, no errors, mount didn't had any unexpected movement, kstars showed correctly the telescope's center towards NCP

3.1 slew to Polaris:
org.kde.kstars.indi: ISD:Telescope sending coords RA: "02h 56m 06s" ( 2.93508 ) DE: " 89° 20' 19\"" ( 89.3388 )
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] Goto RA-DEC( 2:56:06,89:20:20) "

3.2 kstars showed correctly the telescope's center towards Polaris
3.3 smoked a cigarette for 5 minutes :)

3.4 checked the log:
...
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] CMD <E> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] RES <2085,3F84#> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[SCOPE] RA-DEC ( 3:02:55,89:19:08) "
org.kde.kstars.indi: ISD:Telescope sending coords RA: "02h 56m 06s" ( 2.93508 ) DE: " 89° 20' 19\"" ( 89.3388 )
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] CMD <E> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] RES <2086,3F84#> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[SCOPE] RA-DEC ( 3:02:57,89:19:08) "
...
3.5 parked the mount:
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] Parking to Az (90:00:49) Alt (90:00:47)... "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] Goto AZM-ALT ( 90:00:49,90:00:47) "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] CMD <B4002,4002> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] RES <#> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] CMD <E> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] RES <205E,3FD5#> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[SCOPE] RA-DEC ( 3:02:04,89:45:50) "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] CMD <L> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] RES <1#> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] CMD <E> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] RES <A446,3EA1#> "
...
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] CMD <L> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] RES <0#> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] CMD <54 00> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] RES <#> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] Mount tracking is off. "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] Configuration successfully saved. "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] CMD <E> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] RES <37FA,3FFA#> "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[SCOPE] RA-DEC ( 5:14:52,89:58:01) "
org.kde.kstars.indi: Celestron NexStar : "[DEBUG] CMD <E> "
...
3.6 kstars showed correctly the telescope's center towards NCP

3.7 checked mount's indexes, home position acquired correctly

4. disconnected and stopped indi, set logs to regular, restarted indi, repeated the test, all things went as expected

5. rebooted RasPi, repeated the test, all OK


Should I try to test anything else?

Kind regards,
Lucian
The following user(s) said Thank You knro

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 year 1 month ago
suramare
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 10
More
Celestron AVX mount and Starsense #29933
Update

Hi,

the previous tests with StarSense were done in this simplified config: celestron_gps + CCD simulator.

Last two hours I tried to test with my actual gear: celestron_gps + Canon DSLR + QHY guider + Pegasus DMFC focuer

The config celestron_gps + Canon DSLR works fine, but when I try to add to the profile the rest of the gear: guider and/or the focuser the situation is becoming ridiculous:

Somehow seems that the geographic becomes corrupted.
Instead of Setting location (24.168,45.853), which is correct, I receive Setting location (0.000,51.468) which is a location in the Indian Ocean.

I've done it again and again, restarted the mount and RasPi several times, same result Setting location (0.000,51.468)
Any idea?...

I will do the same with NexStar HC, and i really hope will be different results.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 year 1 month ago
suramare
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 10
More
Celestron AVX mount and Starsense #29934
NexStar+ same situation...:S

Noticed in log
org.kde.kstars.indi: INDI Server: "2018-09-28T13:36:43: Driver indi_qhy_ccd: No ISwitch 'OGV' in QHY CCD QHY5II-M-1027e9.CCD_STREAM_RECORDER"
org.kde.kstars.indi: INDI Server: "2018-09-28T13:36:44: Driver indi_qhy_ccd: snooping on Celestron GPS.EQUATORIAL_EOD_COORD"
org.kde.kstars.indi: INDI Server: "2018-09-28T13:36:44: Driver indi_qhy_ccd: snooping on Celestron GPS.TELESCOPE_INFO"
org.kde.kstars.indi: INDI Server: "2018-09-28T13:36:44: Driver indi_qhy_ccd: snooping on Celestron GPS.GEOGRAPHIC_COORD
is this OK ?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 year 1 month ago
knro
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7361
Karma: 51
Celestron AVX mount and Starsense #29936
Lucian, great report!! Thanks a lot!

Suramare: Can you attach the complete debug log? Is KStars set to receive location from mount?

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 year 1 month ago 1 year 1 month ago by suramare.
suramare
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 10
More
Celestron AVX mount and Starsense #29937
Hi Jasem,

now it works! :huh:
Yes, also in previous runs kstars was set to be updated time/location by the mount.

I'm talking now about NexStar. all devices connected to RasPi/StellarMateOS.
KStars was executed on RasPi via ssh connection to my laptop running OpenSuse Linux.

What have I done since my last post:
- manually set up the correct coordinates on the HC
- restarted mount/HC unpluged from RasPi
- waiting for "GPS Linked" message on the HC, done it also when behavior was wrong and after that plugged onto RasPi
- same behaviour.
- set up kstars that it will update the mount
- done a few tests, the mount was correctly updated
- gone to lunch :)
- received your reply
- restarted kstars with the option to be updated by mount, done the last tests

attached the requested logs:

File Attachment:

File Name: mount_and_...ator.txt
File Size:37 KB

File Attachment:

File Name: mount_and_canon.txt
File Size:62 KB

File Attachment:

File Name: mount_and_all.txt
File Size:71 KB


I really don't understand what's going on.


later edit:
I've also made a fresh "make install", because watching top I've noticed today that apt- update was running. Being paranoyd :silly: I wanted to be sure that I'm working with the right binaries...
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 year 1 month ago
ChrisRowland
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 214
Karma: 7
More
Celestron AVX mount and Starsense #29940
This may not be relevant to this particular issue but setting the location or time in the mount is a bad idea because changing these will change the local sidereal time and can upset the mount alignment. StarSense will set it's internal isAligned flag to false if this is done.

There is no code in the Celestron driver to read the location from the mount.
BTW I've tried to do a PR with the PierSide changes. It is complaining about conflicts but I don't think I can fix this because I don't have write access to the master.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 year 1 month ago
knro
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7361
Karma: 51
Celestron AVX mount and Starsense #29946
Chris, thanks for the PR! I fixed the conflicts and it's merged to master. Great work!

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 year 3 weeks ago
alabaster
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 2
More
Celestron AVX mount and Starsense #30768
I'm still receiving the mount firmware does not support tracking error. in both Stellarmate OS and Desktop versions with latest updates. i am also unable to connect to the gps module on the mount (not a big deal). i tried for several hours to get the internal guider and phd2 to guide but they both could not. in phd the star would just keep drifting and in the internal guider it just gave up i'm not sure of the errors. i do remember an error in ekos about phd2 having to uncheck auto reconfigure calibration data or something of the sort. but i could not find that option in the settings.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.834 seconds