INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Trying to write a telescope driver - need help

• Thank you received: 3
Hi, I am new here, please be kind.
I am very new to INDI, but I do have experience with C++ (however not with CMake)

I have a telescope controller (Boxdörfer MTS-3SDI) with some non-standard LX200 firmware. It does not behave properly in KStars if I try any of the INDI LX200 drivers. So I thought I might try to write my own driver, fixing the problems of formatting that I think is the problem. This is also thinking ahead, as another firmware exists for the controller, giving me more detailed control. So the goal is to try to learn how to make a basic INDI telescope driver by fixing the LX200 issues. If I can get it to work under Kubuntu, the plan is to port it to raspberry PI afterwards, so I can connect to it wirelessly.

However, I am really having a hard time figuring things out. Here is what i have done (working on Kubuntu 14.04)

I wrote a driver class: class lx200mts : public INDI::Telescope { ...}
I managed to link it using CMake (not so easy....)
Its name shows up in KStars, but nothing really works

I also tried to start the driver from the command line:

2014-10-03T14:05:44: startup: indiserver ./indi_lx200mts
*** Error in `': malloc(): memory corruption (fast): 0x0000000002058180 ***
2014-10-03T14:05:44: Driver ./indi_lx200mts: stderr EOF
2014-10-03T14:05:44: Driver ./indi_lx200mts: restart #1
*** Error in `': malloc(): memory corruption (fast): 0x0000000000ea0180 ***
2014-10-03T14:05:45: Driver ./indi_lx200mts: stderr EOF
2014-10-03T14:05:45: Driver ./indi_lx200mts: restart #2

it goes on and on about memory corruption.

I have added some "Hello" printouts in the code like this, but it never shows up

void ISGetProperties (const char *dev)
{
cout << "ISGetProperties " << endl;
ISInit();
telescope->ISGetProperties(dev);
}

I would be grateful for some assistance!