INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

recommend a mount please

• Thank you received: 223
I do believe that a lot of frustration and issues I have is from this HEQ5 pro, I'm getting fedup wasting my time with it.
It's not accurate enough, it does not guide correctly, I no longer like this mount.

For example, my polar alignment moved... in the space of a week or so.
:angry: :angry: :angry: :angry: :angry:
4 years 11 months ago #38150

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 420
As I commented in the other topic, not sure what could have caused that. But I have been using an HEQ5-Pro for 1,5 years now and I am very happy with it. In general it guides at better than 1.5" RMS while my pixels are around 2". I use an ASI120MC-S and a 50 mm F=160 mm guide scope. I tried a 60 mm F=280 mm guide scope at some point and that got me down to 0.7" and better. I am using that now on my EQ6-R and generally get that RMS there as well.

I did install the belt mod myself on the HEQ5-Pro. Not sure if you have it but that may be a consideration to improve things.

HTH, Wouter
The following user(s) said Thank You: Gonzothegreat, Greg
4 years 11 months ago #38206

• Thank you received: 140

Replied by AstroNerd on topic recommend a mount please

I second that last post, if you don’t have the belt mod, then do that first, it could save you the cost of a new mount... :)
4 years 11 months ago #38212

thanks, I have the bel mod :)
4 years 11 months ago #38214

• Thank you received: 87

Replied by nMAC on topic recommend a mount please

I would not ditch it away, just until you try all solutions possible.
It's a good mount, sometimes it's a "PITA" to get it working but... when you get it right, it just works. Steadily.
Mine took almost 6 months to get it right! Almost went nuts but perseverance is the key :-D
You'll eventually get it.
Last edit: 4 years 11 months ago by nMAC.