INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Using PEC and EQMod Mount

• Thank you received: 559
I noticed while guiding that I have significant periodic error with RA on my Orion Atlas Pro. I though, perhaps it made sense to try the periodic error correction feature--though I'm not experienced with it (perhaps I'm confused on how to use it). I did the following.

I started up Indi and Ekos, pointed at Dubhe and started (Phd2) guiding. I went to Indi Control Panel --> EQMod Mount and turned on RA PPEC Training. It went yellow for about 14 minutes and then said RA PPEC training completed, and the light turned off (went grey). I assumed this meant it was successful. I then stopped guiding, set up my target (M13), clicked on Indi Control Panel --> EQMod Mount --> Turn RA PPEC to "on". I then started guiding. At this point Indi (in the EQMod Tab log) said: "Turning RA PPEC off while guiding. Turn on RA PPEC after guiding."

So , I'm confused. Can I not use PPEC while guiding? I had hoped that was the point--to improve guiding, or rather make guiding easier, by removing the periodic error component. How should this be used?

Thanks,
Hy
4 years 9 months ago #39967

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 46

Replied by Markku on topic Using PEC and EQMod Mount

Hi,

The message you get is somewhat confusing but it means that you have to be guiding before starting PPEC, the thing is that PPEC can't be activated if the mount is not moving so I guess maybe the mount is not tracking when you activate PPEC.

Cs,
/Markku
4 years 9 months ago #39976

Markku,

Just double checking: I am saying that (a) I started guiding, and (b) turned on PPEC RA training, and it ran for a 10-15 minutes, and then said it trained successfully.
Then, later, I turned on guiding again (mount is definitely tracking--I just double checked) and yet it will not let me turn on RA PPEC.