INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

EQMod questions..

• Thank you received: 0
Hello,
I am coming from the Windows world and I am a complete newbie in Mac or Linux. So, I am sorry for these (maybe) stupid questions and also for my bad English.

I have read almost entire indilib.org site, and I tried to install indi library and Kstar on a Mac in order to test the software. First time I followed the installing procedure using Macports, but after 2 days I failed. It seems I installed the KDE4 but no Kstar. I also tried to build it, but also I have received a lot of errors, so I give up (for the moment). It is very difficult for someone who knows nothing about Linux, Mac etc.

So as I haven’t access to software I would like at least to know if indi libraries could be useful for me.

-I am interested in EQMod driver. Should this driver be connected to a Skywatcher mount directly (without hand controller) – like EQMOD/ASCOM driver ? Does this driver use the same protocol as EQMOD driver?

-Could I use a Raspberry Pi connected to a mount and running an Indi server with EQMod driver ? Could I connect this Raspberry wireless with another portable device, (android phone or Ipad) running a client like Kstars ?

-What kind of protocol uses the EQMod driver at "input"? I am asking this because I would like to connect another planetarium software (Skysafari) to that server/driver. Skysafari sends via TCP protocol Nexstar commands, LX200 commands etc. So the real question is how it works the link between Kstar client and the server/EQMod?

Thank you
9 years 1 month ago #2912

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by Jasem Mutlaq on topic EQMod questions..

For Mac, mabye our Mac Guru Peter can help a bit :-)

Getting INDI/Ekos on Linux is easier now. Regarding your questions:

1. Yes, it uses the same SkyWatcher protocol.