INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Problem setting up Rainbow Astro RST-135

• Thank you received: 0
I just got the Rainbow Astro RST-135, and I am trying to get it to work with Ekos on a Mac. It connects and controls fine, but I am having trouble getting it to point properly. It seems to be a location/Time issue. How should I set the Time&Location Updates in the Indi Configure preferences? KStars updates all devices,Mount Updates KStars,GPS Updates KStar? I can boot up the mount, and park it with the hand controller. It also has build in GPS, and sets the mount facing exactly straight west to the horizon. But Ekos updates the Dec/RA to something way off in the eastern sky and when I try to slew to know objects that are visible (Like Orion Nebula), it thinks they are below the horizon. I am apologize if this is something basic, but I am just beginning with Astrophotography and this is my first mount. Any help on how to troubleshoot would be greatly appreciated!
4 years 1 month ago #49944

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

IIRC, you cannot set time/date on the mount from the command set so KStars plays no role in setting this.
4 years 1 month ago #49946

The Time and Location on the mount are set properly by GPS, but Ekos almost acts like it thinks I am at GMT and not California like I actually am located?
4 years 1 month ago #49947

• Thank you received: 3
I just got an RST-135 and am having similar problems. The main issue is that I’m not able to get the solver to work most of the time. It appears that is due to KStars/Ekos/INDI not thinking the mount is pointing where its actually pointing. I’m guessing its all related to the fact that the default / park position is as you said - pointing west on the horizon.