INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

[SOLVED] No visible cursor when accessing Stellarmate via VNC

• Thank you received: 1
Hello all.  Noob here, on the heels of my very first Stellarmate field sessions - which were quite successful overall!

The issue I have is when I access KStars/Ekos via VNC while in the field using the SM iPad app, my keyboard's touchpad cursor isn't visible on the screen.  I know the touchpad is working because when by chance I hover over a desktop icon it appropriately gets focus, but that doesn't help me point to KStars locations or Ekos fields using the touchpad.  I used my iPad's Apple Pencil as a workaround but I'd prefer not to need to do that.

I have the same invisible cursor issue with several keyboard/touchpads (WiFi and Bluetooth) and with multiple PC and iPad browsers and standalone VNC clients.  The noVNC "Show Dot when No Cursor" setting has no effect.  The cursor is visible when I HDMI directly to a monitor while at home, just not when using VNC.

Is this likely a noVNC server config issue on the Pi that I can solve?  Or maybe some sort of screen resolution mismatch?  An incorrectly set WiFi parm?  Would installing a different VNC server on my Pi work around this issue?  (If I install a different VNC server can I somehow shut down the noVNC server, and would doing so still let me use the SM app's VNC client functionality?)

Thanks in advance for any nudges in the right direction that you can provide me!

Jim
2 years 7 months ago #74921

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

I can't see this issue on Android at least. At any rate, this is an option in noVNC to "Show Dot when no Cursor" so maybe try this?

2 years 7 months ago #74937
Attachments:

Jasem, thanks for your quick reply - and for the amazing Stellarmate OS product.  Both are much appreciated.