INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Plate solving for Polar Alignment

• Thank you received: 2
Hi

I am new to the Indi ecosystem

I was able to get out under a clear sky last night for the first time but couldn’t get polar alignment to work

I set up; connected all equipment; turned on tracking; too a phot ( Canon DSLR) and plate solved successfully;

However when I then attempted to use the polar alignment routine,- with all settings the same- it failed to plate solve even the first image and eventually aborted

Any suggestions would be gratefully accepted, thanks in advance
1 year 9 months ago #84179

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 33
Just so I have understood this correctly, are you saying the platesolving for exact same region worked directly but failed in PA tool?
The area around the pole star is quite sparse and I have had challenges getting platesolving to work there. But in my case my FOV is quite small with main scope so I tend to use the guidescope and that works.
Clear Skies,
Pramod

My kit: SW 130PDS on a HEQ5 Pro mount, ZWO ASI533mc Pro, 30mm guidescope with ASI120mm mini, managed using Kstars/Ekos, RPi with Stellarmate OS, ASI224mc, bits and bobs for visual observations.
1 year 9 months ago #84180

• Thank you received: 1
Yes, the area around Polaris is a little sparse. The last time out I was also having the Polar Alignment register. Sometimes adjusting the exposure times helps, sometimes switching Polar Alignment to the guide scope helps. If nothing else works I will slew my scope upwards a little to perhaps get a more populated star field; this generally works.
1 year 9 months ago #84186

Yes exactly my problem…it plate solves when I ask it to capture and plate solve. Without moving the scope ( except it is tracking) I immediately go to the PAA tab…and it fails to plate solve repeatedly.