INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

VNC connection to Stellarmate

• Thank you received: 0
Hi, I'm new to Stellarmate (1 week) looking good so far as I can tell with scope connected in the kitchen!
I've got Stellarmate loaded onto a Raspberry pi 4B.
When I VNC using Android phone / tablet everything is fine, all working.
But when I connect laptop to the Pi using direct ethernet, I cannot use the taskbar at the top of desktop. Mouse just won't see it. Can anyone help?
1 year 4 months ago #87720

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 1
Are you connecting using a browser in both cases?
1 year 4 months ago #87721

Hi. I'm using the Stellarmate app on tablet and Google chrome on laptop.
1 year 4 months ago #87724

Simon, your comment got me thinking. Got UltraVNC on laptop and that works OK.
I'll just stop using Chrome.
Thanks for your help
1 year 4 months ago #87728

• Thank you received: 10

Lucky you.... I'm having to reload RealVNC about every 30 seconds because either VNC becomes totally unresponsive or the RPi running the latest update (as of last night) simply disconnects.

Something is seriously wrong as prior to the latest update, I did not have that issue and the connection is very reliable. Using 5G and when I can get the RPi to respond, the signal strength is 71%, so it's not a weak signal issue. When I CAN get it to respond, the CPU is showing almost 100% usage.

EDIT:
I was finally able to get a terminal window open and ran updates from the command prompt and there were some OS ones pending. Once those were applied, the RPi 4 became responsive again.... and it wasn't just because of a reboot, as I did that already several times.
Last edit: 1 year 4 months ago by Tracy Perry.
1 year 4 months ago #87731