INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Pixel pitch for Fuji X-T4

• Thank you received: 0
I’m a beginner so please keep that in mind. I finally got everything I thought I would need to start enjoying Astrophotography. I picked up an Ioptron gem28, Sharpstar 61 edph ii, and a raspberry pie 4 and case running StellarMate. I intended to start this endeavor by using my Fuji XT4 camera and thought I had everything ready to go for what was finally a clear night tonight, but ran into an issue. StellarMate, or perhaps it’s INDI, is asking for some specs for my camera sensor that I simply cannot find anywhere. I have the sensor size and resolution, but it asks for pixel pitch and is asking for two values. Everywhere I look online shows a single value for pixel pitch, and of course they differ a bit. One shows 3.77um and another 3.74um. The sensor resolution is 6240x4160. Can anyone help explain what these two values are or where I can find them? I’m really confused on why this term is listed as 2 values here but when looking online I see a single value given. I’m having a really hard time finding any specific information on it, or at least some that I’ve been able to understand.
1 year 5 months ago #87848

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 565
I'm sure you'll be fine by enter either of those values to both fields, or split the difference and use 3.75um.
I believe (though have never used it myself) that the value to type in is in um, so just enter 3.75 to both boxes.

What it is asking for is the size of the individual pixels in microns. Generally they're square pixels.
Note that as your resolution is 6240x4160, multiplying by 3.75um (micro-meters) gets you 23.4mm x 15.6mm.
A web search shows that the Fuji XT4 sensor is 23.8mm x 15.6mm.

Hy
1 year 5 months ago #87849