INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Baby user: struggling with polar align assistant

• Thank you received: 8
Hi there,

This is my first post in this forum since I'm just beginning with this new hobby.

I already spent a couple of weeks setting up my configuration and now it seems I'm more or less prepared to catch my first light.

I have latest and updated stellarmate installed on a RPI 4 with 8gb of RAM. Ultimate goal is to be able to nomad with my setup where the sky is the clearest. But that's not for tomorrow...

So for the time being, I'm learning at home (with domestic power supply, one thing at the time).

These last days, the sky was clear so I decided to give it a try. Installed the gear, did a PA, connected everything and fired up stellarmate. I could connect to it via NoVPN (was cold outside) without problems. First goal was to try the polar align assistant of kstars. So I pointed the scope to Polaris (with mount turned off) and then then hit start in the assistant. It captured an image (I could see it) and started solving. But failed. I tried several time with different settings (for example, increasing capture time to have more stars), but with no luck.

So I came to this forum and tried to find a solution to my problem. Of course I didn't, but I learned to activate logs to get a better understanding. But that didn't really help. So I figured I would post here, hoping that confirmed users might help me. Logs are attached.