INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Tracking satellites with ekos scheduler in kstars

• Thank you received: 0
Hi everyone! I am new to using Kstars/INDI and to this forum as well.

So at my uni, we have an observatory which we want to use to track satellites according to a schedule using "Ekos scheduler" in kstars. I know that kstars cannot track satellites, but INDI does have the capability to send commands to track satellites to an LX 10 micron mount. I want to develop this functionality in the ekos scheduler.

As a first step, I wanted to check the existing capabilities of the scheduler. When I add a satellite to the Schedule, the start and end times displayed in the respective columns do not correspond to the actual rise and and set times of the satellite at my location.

I have verified my location in kstars and it is correct. Has anyone tried to use this functionality before? Is there something I am doing wrong here? Any inputs are greatly appreciated.

Apologies in advance if this post does not belong here.
2 weeks 1 day ago #100597

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hello Sandeep and welcome to INDI forums!

I don't think adding them to scheduler is sufficient either. What information is required to send to the 10Micron mount? who will send this information exactly? Ekos needs to do this, but currently, the scheduler does not handle satellites in any fashion. So this needs to be implemented.
2 weeks 1 day ago #100598

• Thank you received: 567