INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Newbie query on operating QHY 268C with RPi4

• Thank you received: 0
I am new to this forum and Raspberry Pi and am in need of some sage advice.  I have a rather basic question that I am sure some of the more expert members could answer…here goes..

I just purchased a Raspberry Pi 4 8 Gb and thought I could try to use it as a way to astro image in my observatory.I am new to the RPi4 also.   
I presently use a Windows 10 PC to do astrophotography but it’s rear usb3 ports are too far away from the scope to reliably connect using a max 3 meter usb extension. I was considering a Pegasus Powerbox for its USB but but it’s rather pricey.   I’d like to use the RPi 4 on the scope if possible. That would be a great alternative if I could figure out how to configure such a setup. 
i realize the QHY268C is a large sensor and may not be suitable for RPi4.  However I also would like to try it with my  QHY5III485C which is smaller.  Maybe I could use that only. 
Can I use the RaspberryPii with its built in usb 3 to image with my usb3 qhy 268c camera perhaps through my windows pc? Can the RPi be used stand alone? Or, does it need to transfer something to my Windows PC?
Sorry for the simple minded question.  
Would certainly appreciate different solutions. 
jim

Last edit: 2 years 8 months ago by Jim Fakatselis.
2 years 8 months ago #74796

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 18