×
INDI Library v1.8.6 Released (21 Aug 2020)

August 2020 release of INDI Library v1.8.6 introduces new drivers while providing fixes and improvements to existing devices and core framework.

EQMOD + moonlite focuser doesn't connect together

3 months 1 week ago
msacco
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 14
More
Topic Author
EQMOD + moonlite focuser doesn't connect together #55573
Hi, I recently bought a raspberry pi 4B(4GB), yesterday I was excited to try my first attemp with it, but I had 2 issues I've encountered with:
1. Whenever I connected my USB(from the USB HUB) to the USB3 port, for a weird reason the wifi/hotspot stopped working, can't really tell why, it's a powered USB HUB, so it shouldn't draw too much power from the rasbperry pi.
Eventually I've simply connected the hub to a usb2 port and that fixed the issue.

2. After I solved the first issue, I ended up with another frustrating issue, I'm using a DIY focuser(ardufocus, which is compatible with moonlite focus drivers), for a weird reason, I didn't manage to get both my moun(EQMOD) and focuser to connect at the same time.
According to the connected USB's, both were connected, but I was only able to connect one at a time, if the EQMOD was connected, the focuser wasn't able to be found, and if the focuser was connected, I couldn't connect to the EQMOD.

I didn't manage to solve this issue, I also tried connected both of them directly to the raspberry pi and not through the USB hub, but that didn't help. Eventually after around 2-3 hours of trying to troubleshoot and google, I simply gave up, connected everything to the USB hub and then to my laptop and imaged with it.

Any ideas what could be the issue?
Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 1 week ago
knro
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 8391
Karma: 51
EQMOD + moonlite focuser doesn't connect together #55575
After you plug the moonlite, what does dmesg say? does it get assigned port?

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 1 week ago
msacco
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 14
More
Topic Author
EQMOD + moonlite focuser doesn't connect together #55577

knro wrote: After you plug the moonlite, what does dmesg say? does it get assigned port?


I'm not sure where I should see that?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 1 week ago
wvreeven
Supernova Explorer
Supernova Explorer
Posts: 1661
Karma: 8
More
EQMOD + moonlite focuser doesn't connect together #55581
Disconnect the moonlite and eqmod, open a terminal and type

dmesg -w

This will print out all kernel messages so far and will wait (that's what the -w does) for new messages. Now plugin the moonlite. Now leave the moonlite connected and also connect the eqmod. Copy the new lines and paste them here.


Wouter

ASI6200 and filter wheel with a SkyWatcher Esprit 80 ED on a SkyWatcher HEQ5-Pro
ASI1600MM-Pro Cooled and filter wheel with an 8" TS Ritchey-Chrétien on a SkyWatcher EQ6-R

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 1 week ago
msacco
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 14
More
Topic Author
EQMOD + moonlite focuser doesn't connect together #55582

wvreeven wrote: Disconnect the moonlite and eqmod, open a terminal and type

dmesg -w

This will print out all kernel messages so far and will wait (that's what the -w does) for new messages. Now plugin the moonlite. Now leave the moonlite connected and also connect the eqmod. Copy the new lines and paste them here.


Wouter


I currently don't have access to my mount, I don't think I'll be able to reproduce this with simulator drivers unfortunately.
Basically that's what I received though:
2020-06-14T17:22:12: [INFO] Error retreiving data from MoonLite, please ensure MoonLite controller is powered and the port is correct.
2020-06-14T17:22:12: [INFO] Handshake failed after 3 attempts
2020-06-14T17:22:08: [ERROR] Handshake Attempt 2, updatePosition response error: Timeout error.
2020-06-14T17:22:12: [ERROR] Handshake Attempt 3, updatePosition response error: Timeout error.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 1 week ago
porkyhttp
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 95
More
EQMOD + moonlite focuser doesn't connect together #55583
Try to install a 10uF capacitor connected betwee GND and RST arduino's pin

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 1 week ago
msacco
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 14
More
Topic Author
EQMOD + moonlite focuser doesn't connect together #55584

porkyhttp wrote: Try to install a 10uF capacitor connected betwee GND and RST arduino's pin


There was a capacitor initially, but it worked flawlessly on windows with whatever program I used(SGP, NINA, firecapture, sharpcap), so I didn't install it on the new arduino board.
The capacitor should disable auto reset or something like that I think, is there any logic for it to work on windows and not work with indi?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 1 week ago
porkyhttp
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 95
More
EQMOD + moonlite focuser doesn't connect together #55586
I do not know the problem, but it is not related to the arduino code, or the moonlite driver. I have the same issue with myfocuser 2 pro, but i need to try with the capacitor. Other times it connects without problems

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 1 week ago
msacco
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 14
More
Topic Author
EQMOD + moonlite focuser doesn't connect together #55588

porkyhttp wrote: I do not know the problem, but it is not related to the arduino code, or the moonlite driver. I have the same issue with myfocuser 2 pro, but i need to try with the capacitor. Other times it connects without problems


Oh you're experiencing the exact same problem?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 1 week ago
porkyhttp
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 95
More
EQMOD + moonlite focuser doesn't connect together #55589
Yes random. I think that isrelated ti Arduino that reset on serial connection and the code ti ger the motore position. Capacitior should evitate this.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 1 week ago
msacco
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 14
More
Topic Author
EQMOD + moonlite focuser doesn't connect together #55611

porkyhttp wrote: Yes random. I think that isrelated ti Arduino that reset on serial connection and the code ti ger the motore position. Capacitior should evitate this.


That's very interesting, I'll surely give it a try when I have the chance, will you be able to let me know if you tried it too?

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 1 week ago
porkyhttp
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 95
More
EQMOD + moonlite focuser doesn't connect together #55616
I tested it now with and without the capacitor. Without the capacitor some problem in the connection with or without unplug the usb port. With the capacitor no problem on connection in about 10 times

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.934 seconds