INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Problems with Date and Time using GPSNMEA

• Thank you received: 4
I would like to ask a question about updating date and time on my Raspberry Pi 4. I have been using the Astroberry suite quite successfully and I must say I really like it, especially for its ease of use, since I am far from a Linux expert.

I know the Raspberry doesn't have its own way of updating time and date at startup but I don't want to hook it up to the home network every time I go out imaging - in fact, I use it as a hotspot, so that I can VNC into it immediately at startup, from my laptop.

The way I have been updating GPS coordinates, date and time, so far, has been with the GPSNMEA driver in EKOS. On my Android phone I have NetGPS, set to port 50000, same in GPSNMEA. I connect my phone to the Raspberry hotspot via WI-FI and then I launch EKOS.

The driver updates the location and time correctly, and feeds it to KStars and all my slews are usually correct.

However, last night, I tried to slew to the Moon and some planets, and I saw that the telescope was way off, even if I plate solved a few points and built a good model of the sky. Then I noticed that inside GPSNMEA the time was correct, but not the date. It should have been October, 5th, instead it was still October, 4th - which was the last time I hook up the Raspberry to the network, via ethernet, to update some things.

Now, I don't remember if this was a one time thing, since I usually just do DSO imaging and after the first plate solve, all the following GO-TOs are pretty much spot on.

So, if possible, I would like to know the following three things:

1) - is there a reliable way of updating date, time and GPS coordinates using GPSNMEA and a phone app, so that everything goes correctly?