×

INDI Library v1.9.8 Released (Yesterday)

Bi-monthly INDI Library released with new drivers and bug fixes.

Ekos detects not real mount movement, "jumping" on the screen

  • Posts: 36
  • Thank you received: 1
Thanks for the suggestion, I'm trying them all.

After dmesg I get a veeeeery long list of stuff that is totally not understandable, am I going to post it here?

The mount is connected with a FTDI USB cable in the USB 2 port, the ASI 294MC and the ASI 120MM mini are on the USB 3 ports. No hubs used as everything has its own usb port.

I've set the verbose mode for Mount but I didn't get any other file in the directory, I had to create the "logs" directory as it was not there and no other files appear after an Ekos session, what can I do?

I didn't understand the last part on the "ReadScopeStatus", I'm totally out of Linux or stuff like that, what do I have to do?

Thanks for the support Gene! 
8 months 1 week ago #79681

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 1029
  • Thank you received: 301

Replied by Eric on topic Re:Detecting Misted Optics

To check if the jump issue is at the driver level, observe the INDI panel and look at the mount tab coordinates. If they "jump" here sporadically while tracking, or if the horizon limits start triggering, there may be an issue with the mount driver and/or its configuration and/or its library dependencies that will require a clean reinstall. Also check that alt-az does not change when the mount is not tracking, and that ra-dec does not change when the mount is tracking.

-Eric
HEQ5-Pro - Atik 314E - Orion ED80T - DMK21 on Orion 50mm
DIY 3D-printed Moonlite and FWheel RGB/LPR
KStars and indiserver on two Atom 1.6GHz 1GB RAM Linux, VPN remote access
The following user(s) said Thank You: Valerio
8 months 1 week ago #79716

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 36
  • Thank you received: 1
I made a clean reinstall a week or two ago after changing the camera and the guide, but the issue is still there. The jump affects the coordinates but only "virtually" as, of course, no real movement is actually made
8 months 3 days ago #79882

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 205
  • Thank you received: 44
Hi Valerio,
As Eric advised, on the INDI panel, do you see the "observe the INDI panel and look at the mount tab coordinates." jumping?

As for issues with the SD card and 'dmesg', 
In a terminal:
dmesg | fgrep mmc

If you see any messages past the first column (first column is time since boot) greater than 5 or 10 these would indicate a possible issue.

Now for driver logging.
Logs: Select Verbose, Output Write to file
Ekos: INDI and MOUNT
Driver: Mount

Maybe not need Ekos: INDI

Click Apply then Ok

As you mentioned, on a clean install you will get the error message log directory does not exist.
 

Note: I would only select 
Logs: Verbose ->Apply
when the jumping is happening, otherwise 
Logs: Disable ->Apply

as the log could get large fast and really only interested in any messages while jumping.

Gene
The following user(s) said Thank You: Valerio
8 months 3 days ago #79893
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 36
  • Thank you received: 1
Hello Gene and Eric, thank you for your help!

I followed your step and the following is the output of the dmesg | fgrep mmc command in terminal:

[    1.423600] mmc-bcm2835 fe300000.mmcnr: could not get clk, deferring probe
[    1.459631] mmc-bcm2835 fe300000.mmcnr: mmc_debug:0 mmc_debug2:0
[    1.459648] mmc-bcm2835 fe300000.mmcnr: DMA channel allocated
[    1.513627] mmc1: queuing unknown CIS tuple 0x80 (2 bytes)
[    1.515506] mmc1: queuing unknown CIS tuple 0x80 (3 bytes)
[    1.517191] mmc1: queuing unknown CIS tuple 0x80 (3 bytes)
[    1.520211] mmc1: queuing unknown CIS tuple 0x80 (7 bytes)
[    1.521895] mmc1: queuing unknown CIS tuple 0x80 (3 bytes)
[    1.527362] mmc0: SDHCI controller on fe340000.mmc [fe340000.mmc] using ADMA
[    1.604981] mmc1: new high speed SDIO card at address 0001
[    1.637565] mmc0: new ultra high speed DDR50 SDHC card at address aaaa
[    1.638612] mmcblk0: mmc0:aaaa SC32G 29.7 GiB
[    1.642156]  mmcblk0: p1 p2
[    1.657363] EXT4-fs (mmcblk0p2): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
[    4.081136] EXT4-fs (mmcblk0p2): re-mounted. Opts: (null)

How is it? Any problem?


I activated the verbose logging for Mount both in Ekos and in Drivers, the full log is attached. I made a little movement just off Polaris, to activate the tracking and after a while a second one, still very small. I didn't activate PHD2. I saw with my eyes at least two jumps on the KStars sky map and one on the Ekos Summary page as I saw RA numbers jump for a fraction to a different number. All this should be written in the Log. Just to give a rough estimation, one event happened at 23:42 about 10-20 seconds, a second one at 23:43, first 10 secondes, and the other one at 23:45 first 10 seconds.
Checking the log on these times I see that the RA changes suddenly: on the first movement RA is set to 14:49:02 and usually this is the reported value, but at 23:43:02.620 it jumps at 14:48:57 or at 23:42:18.266 it jumps to a striking  2:49:02, messing the DEC too, from 82:24:52 to 13:48:14. For the second movement DEC is set to 80:39:14 but at 23:44:53.680 DEC jumps at 83:35:58.
If you see the log, you'll find many other example. I really hope that you can understand something!!!

If there's anything more I have to do, let me know and thank you again for your help!!!

 

File Attachment:

File Name: log_23-39-10.txt
File Size:601 KB
 
8 months 3 days ago #79921
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 205
  • Thank you received: 44
Hi Valerio,

According to the logs, the data from the mount is changing, see the two below, one second apart but differing by 12H in RA and pier side swap WEST to EAST
The sample after the second one below again matches the first sample below.

[2022-01-25T23:42:17.116 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] dispatch_command: \":j1\", 4 bytes written "
[2022-01-25T23:42:17.137 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read_eqmod: \"=26CA7C\", 8 bytes read "
[2022-01-25T23:42:17.138 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[SCOPE] GetRAEncoder() = 8178214 "
[2022-01-25T23:42:17.138 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] dispatch_command: \":j2\", 4 bytes written "
[2022-01-25T23:42:17.155 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read_eqmod: \"=26BD8F\", 8 bytes read "
[2022-01-25T23:42:17.155 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[SCOPE] Current encoders RA=8178214 DE=9420070 "
[2022-01-25T23:42:17.159 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] dispatch_command: \":f1\", 4 bytes written "
[2022-01-25T23:42:17.178 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read_eqmod: \"=111\", 5 bytes read "
[2022-01-25T23:42:17.179 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] dispatch_command: \":f2\", 4 bytes written "
[2022-01-25T23:42:17.185 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read_eqmod: \"=301\", 5 bytes read "
[2022-01-25T23:42:17.187 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[DEBUG] Scope RA (14:49:02) DE (82:24:52) Aligned RA (14:49:02) DE (82:24:52) AZ ( 9:57:32) ALT (43:03:16), PierSide (West) "



[2022-01-25T23:42:18.191 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] dispatch_command: \":j1\", 4 bytes written "
[2022-01-25T23:42:18.209 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read_eqmod: \"=5ECA7C\", 8 bytes read "
[2022-01-25T23:42:18.209 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[SCOPE] GetRAEncoder() = 8178270 "
[2022-01-25T23:42:18.210 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] dispatch_command: \":j2\", 4 bytes written "
[2022-01-25T23:42:18.227 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read_eqmod: \"=26BD9F\", 8 bytes read "
[2022-01-25T23:42:18.227 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[SCOPE] GetDEEncoder() = 10468646 "
[2022-01-25T23:42:18.227 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[SCOPE] Current encoders RA=8178270 DE=10468646 "
[2022-01-25T23:42:18.237 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] dispatch_command: \":f1\", 4 bytes written "
[2022-01-25T23:42:18.256 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read_eqmod: \"=111\", 5 bytes read "
[2022-01-25T23:42:18.257 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] dispatch_command: \":f2\", 4 bytes written "
[2022-01-25T23:42:18.265 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read_eqmod: \"=301\", 5 bytes read "
[2022-01-25T23:42:18.266 CET DEBG ][           org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[DEBUG] Scope RA ( 2:49:02) DE (13:48:14) Aligned RA ( 2:49:02) DE (13:48:14) AZ (267:53:28) ALT (21:31:12), PierSide (East) "

Gene
8 months 3 days ago #79924

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 36
  • Thank you received: 1
Ok, so the "jump" has been recorded in the log! Any idea on causes and solutions? Thanks!
8 months 3 days ago #79926

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 205
  • Thank you received: 44
You seem to have corrupted communications
Now the source of the corruption = ???
Your  FTDI USB cable  to the scope,  the scope side, ???

A simple case:
Current encoders RA=8178214 DE=9420070 " DEC HEX = 8FBD26
"[DEBUG] Scope RA (14:49:02) DE (82:24:52) Aligned RA (14:49:02) DE (82:24:52) AZ ( 9:57:32) ALT (43:03:16), PierSide (West)
Current encoders RA=8178270 DE=10468646 DEC HEX = 9FBD26
"[DEBUG] Scope RA ( 2:49:02) DE (13:48:14) Aligned RA ( 2:49:02) DE (13:48:14) AZ (267:53:28) ALT (21:31:12), PierSide (East)

Above comms picked up an extra bit, the 8 vs 9

Then this
[2022-01-25T23:43:57.918 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read_eqmod: \"}111\", 5 bytes read "
[2022-01-25T23:43:57.919 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read error, will retry again... "

And these
[2022-01-25T23:41:13.788 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read error, will retry again... "
[2022-01-25T23:41:18.808 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read error, will retry again... "
[2022-01-25T23:41:35.257 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read error, will retry again... "
[2022-01-25T23:42:07.518 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read error, will retry again... "
[2022-01-25T23:42:55.417 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read error, will retry again... "
[2022-01-25T23:43:02.555 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read error, will retry again... "
[2022-01-25T23:43:33.599 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read error, will retry again... "
[2022-01-25T23:43:44.304 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read error, will retry again... "
[2022-01-25T23:43:56.829 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read error, will retry again... "
[2022-01-25T23:43:57.919 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read error, will retry again... "
[2022-01-25T23:45:08.288 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read error, will retry again... "
[2022-01-25T23:45:13.311 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read error, will retry again... "
[2022-01-25T23:45:31.228 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read error, will retry again... "
[2022-01-25T23:45:34.446 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read error, will retry again... "
[2022-01-25T23:46:08.389 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - EQMod Mount : "[COMM] read error, will retry again... "
The following user(s) said Thank You: Valerio
8 months 2 days ago #79941

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 36
  • Thank you received: 1
Thanks for the insight! The cable is an EQMod cable made 5 months ago by a famous technician / repairer in Italy, but I think that the easiest solution would be get another EQMod cable rather than working on the controller electronics?
8 months 2 days ago #79942

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 205
  • Thank you received: 44
Replacing the adapter would be a good place to start :-)

Since the mount seems to understand and respond with the correct number of bytes (maybe based on logs :-), it looks like a receive side issue.

I am not familiar with the EQmod to EQ5, what is the input to the mount, serial rs232 with +/- 12V swings on the rs232 or +/- 5V swings?
How long is the cable from the adapter to the mount?
Is the mount input db9 or rj45?
Is the adapter on the computer side of the USB link or the mount side ?
Computer -> USB -> FTDI adapter -> cable -> Mount ?
How long is each section of the above for cables?
The following user(s) said Thank You: Valerio
8 months 2 days ago #79943

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 429
  • Thank you received: 156
As said in some other thread, having just a little bit loose power connector which is quite typical to HEQ5 and others causes this sort of serial errors too so that is also something to test. And making sure the voltage the mount receives it high enough, more than 12V seems to work better, I ran mine at 13.8V.
Remote observatory running Ubuntu 21.10 x64 with ScopeDome 2M, Skywatcher EQ8, TS 8" RC, Atik 383L+, ASI178MC, ASI120MM-S, SX Lodestar X2, SX USB wheel with OAG, ZWO EAF, Gemini SnapCap, USB_DewPoint, KomaHub
The following user(s) said Thank You: Valerio
8 months 2 days ago #79944

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 36
  • Thank you received: 1
Ok, at first I'll get a new EQMod cable and try to see what happens. The EQ5 has a 12V input, I use a stabilized transformer that provides 12,27V (is this enough Jarno?) and a max power of 7 Amps. The EQMod cable is about 1 m, a bit more than 3 feet with a RJ45 connector, the cable includes the FTDI chip on the USB connector, then the 1m cable and the RJ45 connector.

I don't know if this can help, but, as said, all my equipment is connected to Astroberry. The only exception to this is when I prepare the setup because I connect the mount and the ASI294 directly to the PC to use the NINA 3 point polar alignment, as in this way it's much faster than the Ekos one (the photo feedback is much more faster and the polar error is updated, while on the Ekos don't and I really don't know why). It's about two weeks that now I get very weird behaviour in NINA too: the mount (on ASCOM) randomly disconnects, I get messages that the mount didn't move the expected 10° but only 6° or the mount always moves Eastward even if in the plugin I set to move Westward.

Can these info help?
8 months 2 days ago #79953

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.971 seconds