×
INDI Library v1.8.1 Released (09 Sep 2019)

Monthly maintenance release INDI v1.8.1

Nikon flats Ekos exposure time problem?

1 month 2 weeks ago 1 month 2 weeks ago by khobar. Reason: Additional information
khobar
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 49
More
Topic Author
Nikon flats Ekos exposure time problem? #44861
I must be overlooking something - I'm using a Nikon D5300 in bulb mode - works great for long-exposure. However, trying to capture flats it seems I cannot really control the exposure time. For example, I just tried to shoot 1/10sec and it shot 1/4sec. 1/20sec also yielded 1/4sec. I cranked it all the way to the fastest setting in Ekos and it yielded a 11.1sec exposure.

The "status" message area says the following:
2019-10-20T14:29:10: [INFO] Starting 0.00025 seconds exposure.
2019-10-20T14:29:10: [ERROR] Failed to expose.

The tail of the log says:
[2019-10-20T07:28:27.483 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.capture] - "Capturing 0.000-second image..."
[2019-10-20T07:28:27.534 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Nikon DSLR DSC D5300 : "[INFO] Starting 0.00025 seconds exposure. "
[2019-10-20T07:28:38.596 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Nikon DSLR DSC D5300 : "[ERROR] Failed to expose. "
[2019-10-20T07:28:38.596 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.capture] - "Capture failed. Check INDI Control Panel for details."
[2019-10-20T07:28:38.601 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.capture] - "Restarting capture attempt #1"
[2019-10-20T07:28:38.605 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.capture] - "Capturing 0.000-second image..."
[2019-10-20T07:28:38.657 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Nikon DSLR DSC D5300 : "[INFO] Starting 0.00025 seconds exposure. "
[2019-10-20T07:28:41.406 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - "NEF" file saved to "/home/stellarmate/Pictures/Flat/Flat_019.nef"
[2019-10-20T07:28:41.410 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.capture] - "Received image 1 out of 1."
[2019-10-20T07:28:58.908 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.capture] - "Job requires 0.000-second images, has 0/1 frames captured and will be processed."
[2019-10-20T07:28:58.912 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.capture] - "Capturing 0.000-second image..."
[2019-10-20T07:28:58.972 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Nikon DSLR DSC D5300 : "[INFO] Starting 0.00025 seconds exposure. "
[2019-10-20T07:29:10.087 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Nikon DSLR DSC D5300 : "[ERROR] Failed to expose. "
[2019-10-20T07:29:10.089 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.capture] - "Capture failed. Check INDI Control Panel for details."
[2019-10-20T07:29:10.094 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.capture] - "Restarting capture attempt #1"
[2019-10-20T07:29:10.100 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.capture] - "Capturing 0.000-second image..."
[2019-10-20T07:29:10.195 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Nikon DSLR DSC D5300 : "[INFO] Starting 0.00025 seconds exposure. "
[2019-10-20T07:29:12.923 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - "NEF" file saved to "/home/stellarmate/Pictures/Flat/Flat_020.nef"
[2019-10-20T07:29:12.927 MST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.capture] - "Received image 1 out of 1."

What am I missing?

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 2 weeks ago 1 month 2 weeks ago by El Corazon.
El Corazon
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 430
Karma: 3
More
Nikon flats Ekos exposure time problem? #44866
I don't think you are missing anything, I just had the same problem.
My solution was to turn off 'Force Bulb', and manually enter the required exposure time and f/ratio (for an attached Nikon lens) under capture settings in the panel.
Ekos still would not let me shoot "Flats" though. I had to shoot them as 'Light' frames.

If I remember correctly, that bug was fixed a while back. It seems to have returned.

Atlas Pro AZ-EQ, ASI1600MM-Pro, ASI120MM-S, ES102ED, WO-Z61, Nikon D3300, ASI-EFW, ZWO LRGB,Ha,O3,S2 filter set
The following user(s) said Thank You khobar

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 2 weeks ago
khobar
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 49
More
Topic Author
Nikon flats Ekos exposure time problem? #44875
I found the "Force Bulb" setting in INDI and turned it off. Success...well, mostly. For some reason, setting an exposure of 0.002500 yields 1/640. Weird, but I think it will do.

Thanks very much!!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 2 weeks ago
knro
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7391
Karma: 51
Nikon flats Ekos exposure time problem? #44953
Is this on nightly?

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 2 weeks ago 1 month 2 weeks ago by El Corazon.
El Corazon
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 430
Karma: 3
More
Nikon flats Ekos exposure time problem? #44958
It was on the October 19 nightly build.
Have not retried it since I reverted back to 3.3.6 stable.

Atlas Pro AZ-EQ, ASI1600MM-Pro, ASI120MM-S, ES102ED, WO-Z61, Nikon D3300, ASI-EFW, ZWO LRGB,Ha,O3,S2 filter set

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 2 weeks ago
knro
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7391
Karma: 51
Nikon flats Ekos exposure time problem? #44959
Sorry I meant INDI nightly builds?

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 month 1 week ago
khobar
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 49
More
Topic Author
Nikon flats Ekos exposure time problem? #45067
I figured out the exposure wasn't so weird after all - it's simply what the camera is programmed for. ;)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.371 seconds